Recipe of the month: Easy Mushroom Casserole

This is one of my favorite recipes as far as casseroles go. I often prepare this when wanting to empty out my fridge.

page mushroom casserole

Mushroom Casserole

2 cans mushrooms
5-6 eggs
1 small onion
garlic
bacon, ham, sausage, salami, etc.
spices
bread
milk
(mostly eyeball the amounts according to your need)

Chop the onion, garlic, mushrooms and  bacon, ham, sausage, salami, etc. (what ever you have left over in your fridge) and then braise them in a bit of oil for a few minutes (preferably in a larger pot, that way you won’t need to wash two when you’re done).

After braising is done, beat the eggs, combine with milk, add it to the mix and then add crumbled bread. Mix well.

Transfer the mixture into a buttered pan, sprinkle cheese on top and bake in the oven for about 15-20 minutes on 150-180C.

Tip: serve with Baby Spinach salad with Mandarin Oranges and Red Onion

Bon appétit!

13 Comments to “Recipe of the month: Easy Mushroom Casserole”

  1. Yum! I love mushrooms. This would be good for breakfast, I think, if you used some sausage for the meat. :)

    • I love mushrooms too. An you’re right, Janel, as it’s great for either breakfast, lunch or dinner.
      Usually I mix sausage, ham and salami, but it really depends on what cold cuts I have left over because I find that mixing them adds to the flavor.

  2. I *wish* I could eat this. I was a vegetarian for six years and ate mushrooms as my “meat.” I ended up horribly allergic to them so I have to avoid them carefully. But I can see how this casserole could be adapted to just about anything, eg. veggies or leftover meat, to help clean out the fridge.

    • Thanks, Milli. I’m sorry you can’t eat mushrooms anymore, but like you said, this casserole can be adapted to just about anything. Let me know if you adapt it, I’d love to see a different version of it that you’d come up with.

  3. Hey, my hubby and I really like your blog. :)
    And this seems like such a great recipe for when one isn’t in the mood to follow an exact recipe or cook for hours on end. Thanks for sharing!

  4. Sounds delicious, Estrella. I adore mushrooms!

  5. I’m always up for a good mushroom recipe, this sounds delicious!

  6. mushrooms *drools*

  7. Mushrooms are so versatile, sounds delicious!

