Homemade Gifts {in a Jar} part 1

Sometime last week, I stumbled upon Myra’s blog post, 12 Homemade Gifts In A Jar and I was floored. I instantly fell in love with all of these ideas, and since I’d personally love to receive something like this, I decided to make some gifts in jars myself.

The first one I made is a gift to the Chef in my life who doesn’t really like the precision of measuring ingredients for baking. I figured this would be the perfect St.Nick’s Day gift – and I was right, he loved it ;)

page cookies gift in a jar

Chocolate Chip Cookies – Homemade gift in a jar

(I used my own adapted version of this Chocolate Chip Cookies recipe.)

Layer the ingredients in a large enough mason jar, starting with the necessary dry ingredients like sugar, flour (+ baking soda and salt mixed into it), cocoa and only then add your additional dry ingredients like chocolate chips, hazelnuts, Rahat Locoum (Turkish Delight), granola, cereals, raisins, etc.

Screw the lid on the jar, and cover with a circle of fabric or a paper doily, held down with a rubber band. Cover the rubber band with yarn or ribbon and tie a bow. For additional beauty, tie a cinnamon or vanilla bar into the bow. (I did that just before gifting the jar.)

Print out a gift tag-type paper with the recipe, or simply glue further directions onto the jar like I did, mentioning what else needs to be added, at what temperature the cookies need baking and for how long.

* I personally added a bunch of extra ingredients the original recipe didn’t include, so I upped the quantity of eggs and butter needed. Make sure you do the same if you need to.

Come to think about it, I’ve actually given gifts in a jar before, in the form of homemade beauty products. I think my Beauty the natural way recipes (Face Mask, Bath Salts, Exfoliating Body Scrub, Body Balm, Facial Scrub, etc.) are perfect for the ladies in your family so flip through the pages and feel free to prepare any of those. I’m sure they will be greatly appreciated.

Hope you all like these ideas, and check back next Wednesday for part 2 :)

 

PS: there are a ton of gifts in a jar ideas out there on the web, you’re bound to come across the perfect one for your loved ones.

16 Responses to “Homemade Gifts {in a Jar} part 1”

  1. Awesome idea!!! And it looks pretty as well~~~ Thank you!!! :D

    • My pleasure, like I said, I fell in love with the idea of gifts in a jar.
      Oh, and I know, my Chef said he’ll keep his gift on a shelf for a little while longer because it’s so pretty ;)

  2. I haven’t made things like this in years! I actually made dozens of them as door prizes for my baby shower. These are really fun gifts for cooks and non-cooks alike.

    • I can imagine how cute those were, Janel.
      That’s what I love in these as well, perfect gifts for just about anyone. And they’re easy enough to assemble for anyone who doesn’t necessarily do handmade/homemade.

  3. These are beautiful, Estrella. There’s nothing like a homemade gift! I usually give my family some of my roasted pecans in a jar. It’s a pretty way to give it to them – and it’s a favorite!

  4. I love this idea!! So creative and useful too. The cookie recipe looks all set to have fun with and I adore the idea of the double chocolate. (I just bookmarked the recipe – gotta try that one! And definitely with the walnuts.) You’ve made some delicious additions to it. Hazelnuts would be delicious too. And, wow, Turkish Delight! Never thought about putting some into home-baked cookies but you’ve got me intrigued to try it.

    I’m off to check out your handmade beauty products. They sound tempting!

    • We used to use Turkish Delight over at this part of the world all the time when I was a kid and I’ve just rediscovered it in November as I was baking cookies and found out too late that I didn’t have cocoa. This was a nice alternative and oh, so delicious!
      Let me know how you like it after trying the recipe :)

      Hope you like the beauty products!

  5. Anything handmade, even just started like the ingredients for a recipe, is what gift-giving is all about. Your posts are a gift to us all. Patsye

    • Thanks you, Patsye *blush*
      You’re spot on, that is exactly what gift giving is all about, something that comes from the heart and if it comes in handmade form even better.

  6. I’ve recently been looking for this type of gift ideas, thank you so much!

  7. Looks so nice and surely the cookies were good too :)

Trackbacks

