Recipe of the month: two Beet Salads

Did you know beets are good for digestion and blood flow? I don’t generally eat beets, so I wasn’t aware of this before a friend mentioned it, but I’ll be making this salad more often from now on that’s for sure.

 IMG_2881-1

Beets Salad

1 small onion
30 dkg beets
2 average sized pickles
10 dkg homemade mayonnaise
1 dl sour cream
2 spoons horseradish
salt, white pepper

Boil the beets for 20-30 minutes until they’re tender.

Chop all the ingredients finely, combine with the homemade mayo and sour cream, then season to taste.

Serve as a salad with fish or different kinds of meat.

This is how I usually prepare my beets salad, but I actually turned it into a simple salad from the below recipe I once saw.

IMG_3455-1

Pickled Herring and Beets Salad

1 small onion
30 dkg beets
2 average sized pickles
10 dkg homemade mayonnaise
1 dl sour cream
2 spoons horseradish
salt, white pepper
2 eggs
30 dkg pickled herring

Boil the beets for 20-30 minutes until they’re tender. Hard boil the eggs.

Chop all the ingredients finely, combine with the homemade mayo and sour cream, then season to taste.

Serve as a main dish.

Bon appétit!

12 Responses to “Recipe of the month: two Beet Salads”

  1. I love beets, but I’ve never had them in a salad! Honey bunny will eat them any way possible! Thanks for sharing, Estrella!

    • Let me know if you try the recipes, Ann, I’m sure your hubby will love either one. I don’t eat beets as a general rule, but in this form they were absolutely great! :)

  2. Oh, I was looking for a good beet recipe for a few weeks now, and this/these seem absolutely delicious!!!
    I love that you can combine them with more things, and I love fish, so will probably try that version of it first and foremost. The pictures look fabulous, you’re really good with taking pictures I see :)
    Thank you so much for sharing!

    • I’ve been making this recipe for months now and it’s always great. I actually took this to have at dinner at New Year’s party I attended and you know how there are always lots of left-overs? There was sooo much food and desserts, but NO beet salad left-overs whatsoever! ;)

  3. I like these recipes so much. I will bookmark your blog and check back for other posts :)

  4. Had to smile – in England, we call the vegetable ‘beetroot’ – same, but different1 The recipe sounds delicious…

    • That’s interesting. I had a similar experience with Ruccola salad which are called Rocket leaves and other such fun names in other parts of the world.
      Glad you like the recipe, Penny!

  5. Glad I happened upon this recipe, it sounds delicious! Beets are my favorite :)

Trackbacks

