Homemade Gifts {in a Jar} part 2

Last week, I told you all about my gift in a jar Chocolate Chip Cookies for the Chef.

Now, for the seamstress in my life, I decided to make a sewing-kit jar. Here’s how I did it.

page sewing kit gift in a jar

Sewing-kit jar

Fill the jar of your choice, with different things a seamstress would appreciate (I chose beads, embroidery thread, yarn, buttons, chalk, pins and needles, etc.)

I really liked the idea of the pincushion lid, but knew my grandmother wouldn’t really want to keep the jar, so I decided to make one of these really cute Tuna Can Pincushions I’ve had my mind on ever since my friend Patsey posted her tutorial.

After I finished both the jar and pincushion, I stuck the tuna can pincushion onto the lid with a simple double adhesive tape so it would stay on there until/during Christmas gift giving and then come off easily.

Happy crafting everyone :)

Unfortunately, even though I’ve found some wonderful tutorials for new Christmas crafts, I won’t have enough time to make too many new things this year. So aside from the gifts in a jar and a Christmas tree ornament tutorial I’ll post next week (it’s up and available by now), here’s last year’s Handmade Christmas Crafts tutorial list that I’ve put together for easier access.

Hope you’ll have much more time to craft, and please, do share :)

13 Responses to “Homemade Gifts {in a Jar} part 2”

  1. This is so cute. What a great idea! I know a few people who would enjoy these.

  2. These jar sewing kits are beautiful!. With or without the pin cushion on top, this would be a GREAT present for a GUY They never have this stuff laying around, and it would be perfect at their desk (or home if they are single) for that emergency: some buttons that are made for a shirt and the collar (I think these are very generic); white, black, brown and blue thread; easy to thread needles, or along with them a needle threader; a tiny pair of scissors; a small lint remover; and well, you can take this as far as you like. This all goes in Estrella’s jar, and perhaps a cute label stuck on the outside that reads, as an example: “Bob’s Other Emergency Kit.” It’s so hard to buy for guys, and much of this stuff can be bought in a grouping as a kit from the dollar store. But take the dollar kit apart, and put it in a jar with the label, and you have something he’ll probably never throw away, and might even use.

    I made these for several men at my office before I became a nurse years ago. I used spaghetti sauce jars which were rather large. They all liked them, and filled them with other stuff like fallen buttons and collar stays (you probably don’t know about those because I don’t think men use them any more), and just little things that guys need in emergencies like a disposable razor, cologne, breath mints, toothbrush and toothpaste, etc. They kept them in their desks and because of the labels, no one ever lost one.

    Thanks for the reminder. I lose much in my memory, There’s too much going on in my life.

    I love your colors. I love your idea. You make such beautiful things. Patsye

    • Wow, that’s such a great idea, Patsye! Emergency kits like this would be awesome to have at hand, especially for men.
      Glad to be able to spark your memory honey, and thank you for your kind words!

  3. p.s. Your blog is always so fun and interesting. I LOVE coming here. Patsye

  4. This is a great idea. I saw a blog last night where they put the ingredients to make cookies in a jar with a ribbon. Thanks Estrella.

  5. This is adorable! Such a sweet idea for a gift for your special seamstress. I love the pincushion and your forethought in making it separately.

  6. Thanks for all these great ideas. I happen to have a “gifts-in-a-jar” recipe to share with you as well. Meyer Lemon Curd with Vanilla Sugar. :) Hope you’ll like it.

Trackbacks

