Recipe of the month: Mulled Wine

For January’s recipe of the month, I thought I’d go with a seasonal drink we make during Winter, in this little corner of the world.

Aside from being a tradition of the season, mulled wine is a variable drink with many recipe versions. And at the same time there are many ways for savoring: sip it alone in a hot bath, while under a warm blanket curled up on the sofa reading a good book, on an outing with friends or on a romantic evening with your sweetheart.

IMG_3790-1 modified

Mulled Wine

1 –1,5 l great quality (either white or red) wine
8 dkg sugar
1 cinnamon rod
5 cloves
half an orange’s peels
optionally: a few pieces of cut orange, some allspice, cardamom, dried fruit (apples, plums, sour cherries), raisins, lemon peels

Wash the orange, grate the peels and then cut thin slices of orange if you want any in your drink.
Pour the wine in a large pan, add the spices, fruit and peels, sugar, and heat until boiling point.
After you’re done, strain your drink and serve while hot.

Happy wine-sipping ;)

12 Responses to “Recipe of the month: Mulled Wine”

  1. Hi Estrella,

    I enjoyed reading your bio, especially that you live in Transylvania! My husband and I went to Hungary on our honeymoon years ago and wanted to visit Transylvania. Still want to visit. Is it as beautiful as I imagine with giant castles? Your wine receipt sounds yummy. snowing here, might be fun for tonight!

    G.

    • Yes, I think you’d like it, Giulietta, it is filled with so many beautiful sights and castles. If you visit, let me know, I’d love to be your guide (at least in my city) :)

      Glad you liked the mulled wine idea, let me know if you give it a try.

  2. Before I developed an allergy to cinnamon, I LOVED mulled wine! This is stunning – and your picture makes me want to reach in and grab it!

  3. I’ve enjoyed mulled wine but it has been a long time. Thanks for posting.

  4. Sounds great. With white wine, I have also added some thyme occasionally, or mint or verveine… makes for a special taste.

  5. Yum! This sounds like the perfect thing to help keep warm on a chilly night.

  6. Ooooh, that sounds delicious!!

  7. So much fun to see many of you familiar with mulled wine. Thanks for sharing your thoughts! :)

  8. I never heard of this before, but it’s such a good recipe for winter and other times as well, I’m sure. Thank you for sharing!

Trackbacks

