Love of reading (and) The Fault in Our Stars

“Shakespeare told us precious little of the man whom he entombed in his linguistic sarcophagus. (Witness also that when we talk about literature, we do so in the present tense. When we speak of the dead, we are not so kind.) You do not immortalize the lost by writing about them. Language buries, but does not resurrect.”

~ John Green, The Fault in Our Stars

I picked up my signed (with purple sharpie) copy of “The Fault in Our Stars” from the post office on Friday afternoon and started reading it Saturday night. By the time I made myself put it down and go to bed it was already 4am.
It makes me wish I had an entire day to set aside for it, to fully experience and process the book, but nights are good too (I sleep very little anyways).

I read another book by John Green before, but chose this one mainly on impulse, because I fell in love with the title. And I am so glad I managed to jump into reading it not quite knowing what it’s all about, and had absolutely no spoilers.

You probably all know by now how much I love reading. Even more so, when a book manages to make me laugh and cry, when it changes me, when it makes me feel so many intense feelings.
It captures so well the mysticism of personhood, and is such a rollercoaster of a book to read, even so far. I have a strong feeling I’ll be re-reading it.

Somehow it’s clear to me that this book chose me just as much as I chose it (or even more).

I highly recommend it to everyone!

6 Comments to “Love of reading (and) The Fault in Our Stars”

  1. It’s so exciting when you find a book that takes your breath away! Now I’ll have to find a copy of this one to read for myself. :)

    • Sooo exciting. I already finished it. Went from 114 pages to 220 pages and then read the rest of it last night. I’m mostly speechless about it, but it was such an amazing book to read!
      I’m sure you’d like it (let me know after you’re done reading) :)

  2. I agree with Janel – LOVE when you find a book that is gripping! I’m glad you’re enjoying it!

  3. I read this from you before I got around to reading the book but returned upon reading your response to my review. http://challengingbarriers.blogspot.ca/2012/03/review.html I’m glad I followed your advice to read this awww-ma-zing book! I too loved the video of John Green you sent which ends with “how much you can love made up people… and how much you can miss them.”

    • Thanks for dropping by to add the link to your wonderful review, Mark, I loved reading it! And yes, that last sentence describes my exact feelings, especially of TFiOS <3

