Recipe of the month: Sauerkraut Spread

One of my favorite winter dinners (or appetizer) consist of Sauerkraut Spread on fresh bread. Not to mention how much it’s simple-yet-deliciousness helps decide what to prepare!

sauerkraut spread

Sauerkraut Spread

300-400 grams sauerkraut
3-4 tablespoons sour cream
homemade mayonnaise (1 egg yolk, 1 teaspoon mustard, sunflower or olive oil)
salt, pepper, garlic (or garlic powder)

Chop the sauerkraut into thin strips if it was fermented as a whole cabbage. Press out the excess pickling fluid.

Prepare the mayonnaise by adding small amounts of oil to the egg yolk and mustard while mixing vigorously to disperse the oil.
You can also make this in a food processor, just be sure to set it on low speed so the end result won’t separate.
The mayonnaise is done when the emulsion is more resistant to mixing and has a considerably light color compared to how it started out.

Mix together the sauerkraut with the mayonnaise, add the 3-4 tablespoons of sour cream (or even less depending on how creamy you want it), season with salt, pepper and pressed garlic or garlic powder and you’re all ready to spread it on your slices of bread.

Bon appétit!

10 Comments to “Recipe of the month: Sauerkraut Spread”

  1. Okay… I’m not a sauerkraut fan — but for you… I MIGHT try it — MIGHT! :-)

    • I don’t really eat sauerkraut on its own, which is why I really love this recipe. Give it a nice spin and tastes all creamy and yummy :)
      If you do try it, please let me know. Would love to see how someone else who isn’t too much of a fan will like it.

      PS: I find it easy to try things which I know my mom will like. So in case I don’t, it won’t get thrown out.

  2. I am new to loving sauerkraut – and I LOVE it! What a great idea this dish is! I was thinking it would be terrific with some hot brauts chopped up and tooth picks provided to grab and dip! YUM! Thanks!

  3. I can definitely say that I’ve never seen anything like this. I am trying to get a few more fermented foods and drinks into our diet so this might be one of them. I do have a lot of cabbage on hand right now.

  4. I like Sauerkraut (and made a really good batch last year) and this recipe looks so tempting … I’ve never been successful making mayo, but I haven’t given up yet! I look forward to trying this when I have the time.

    Tks for commenting on my pickle blog recently. :) My blogging has suffered since last Aug when I got an awesome job that keeps me on my toes. My spare time is full and also when I like to experiment in the kitchen so for the time being blogging has taken a back seat. I do intend to take one step at a time to get back into it. This is a first step…

    I love your blog – it is so rich in content!

  5. I love everything sauerkraut! Thanks :)

  6. I was just looking for a new sauerkraut recipe – thanks, sounds great!

