Recipe of the month: Müesli, Hazelnut & Turkish Delight Cookies

Last December, I gifted an adapted version of my old Chocolate Chip Cookies recipe.

It was a gift in a jar. And it was a spur of the moment change to the original recipe as I tried to properly fill the whole jar (without simply doubling the recipe – where’s the fun in that?).

The gift looked just lovely. And the cookies? They turned out to be the best!

 

page Muesli Hazelnut and Turkish Delight Cookies

Müesli, Hazelnut & Turkish Delight Cookies

Ingredients:

550 g butter, softened
300 g white sugar
3 eggs
15 ml vanilla extract
250 g all-purpose flour
55 g cocoa powder
5 g baking soda
2 g salt
335 g semisweet chocolate chips
60 g chopped hazelnuts
80 g Muesli
30 g Rahat Locoum (Turkish Delight)

 

Directions:

Preheat oven to 175 degrees C.

In large bowl, beat butter, sugar, eggs, and vanilla until light and fluffy. Combine the flour, cocoa, baking soda, and salt; stir into the butter mixture until well blended. Mix in the chocolate chips, chopped hazelnuts, Muesli and the Turkish Delight. (Add another egg and/or butter if needed.)

Drop by rounded teaspoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheets.

Bake for 8 to 10 minutes in the preheated oven, or just until set. Cool slightly on the cookie sheets before transferring to wire racks to cool completely.

Bon appétit! ;)

14 Responses to “Recipe of the month: Müesli, Hazelnut & Turkish Delight Cookies”

  1. I never would’ve thought to put Turkish delight in a cookie! Unless I’m thinking of something else… are they fruit jellies? Anyway, these sound fabulous! :)

    • They’re really good in cookies.
      I think you have to buy them and see what they’re like, not sure how to describe them or what to compare them to. They’re similar to fruit jellies, but a more solid consistency and much sweeter.

  2. Awesome! Love that you use muesli!

    • Thanks. It was a spur of the moment thing as I was thinking about what to fill up the jar with – and it made the cookies sooo much better! I’ll probably use Muesli more often when I bake cookies from now on.

  3. I have searched high and low for a place to buy Turkish delight but alas, I think it is one of the things that I must begin to appreciate as a true delicacy. These sound fabulous!

  4. Oh, those look so good! (I sent you 2 emails….please check your box!)

  5. This looks delicious!!

  6. I just made these, and they taste amazing, however the turkish delight just melted into goo all over the tray, and the cookies fell apart as a result! I cannot figure out how to make these beautiful creations without melting the turkish delight down to the the gooey toffee
    that it started as…. please help someone…

    • Glad they turned out tasting amazing!

      That’s really weird about the Turkish Delight, it should’ve stayed harder and hardened back up after cooling down. Maybe its consistency is different there as it is here in Romania?
      Try cutting it in tiny tiny pieces next time, maybe that’d help. And let me know if that does the trick :)

    • I just thought of this last night :)
      Maybe you can try it next time to cut the Turkish Delight into small small pieces and leave it out overnight before baking the cookies the next day?

Trackbacks

