What would you like to stop doing?

In no particular order, I’d like to stop:

  • procrastinating
  • making excuses for not creating more time for theater and opera, walks, reading, writing and everything else that I love
  • worrying about anything and everything that doesn’t have a good reason to support said worrying
  • putting myself down if some items on my to-do list don’t get crossed off
  • staying up too late – no matter what the reason
  • losing patience
  • doing things for others when it’s not my “job” to and it isn’t even appreciated
  • letting stuff pile up until not having done them drives me crazy
  • underselling myself
  • letting small, unimportant things upset me

To actually stop doing them will take a while, but I think I’m on the right track.

Your turn, what would you like to stop doing?

 

*Blog post inspired by this question from Danielle LaPorte’s The Burning Questions Series.

17 Responses to “What would you like to stop doing?”

  1. I’m a worrier too. It doesn’t matter if I can’t change things, I still worry and rethink decisions. Definitely something that I need to stop doing!

  2. GREAT list! I especially can relate to the worrying and letting things pile up!

  3. I agree 100% with the procrastination part… I am getting better, but sometimes it’s hard in the mornings… :D

  4. I’d like to quit beating myself up over silly things.

    • Hear hear!
      Thanks for playing with me here, it’s nice to see what others want to stop doing. Kind of like a “no, I’m not the only one” reassuring statement.

  5. I great list.
    I’ll need to think of mine… quite frankly there’s lots.

  6. Loved your list, Estrella. I’ve been thinking about this since I read it yesterday to see if I came up with anything you hadn’t already covered. I didn’t. I want to stop worrying myself to death and regretting things that happened in the past.

    On a lighter note: I could also feel how there are beginning to be more spaces between some of the items on the list where I DO stop doing those things and do better things instead. :~)

    Now where’s me cookies??!!

    • *hands out a double batch of cookies* sorry it took me a while to reply…

      I like this, Milli, it’s good to stop worrying and regretting things from the past. But I love your lighter note, that is the right attitude!

  7. i want to stop not making time to exercise. I want to stop spending so much time in the blogging world. I want to stop eating sunflower seeds!

  8. Estrella, my list would look much like (if not exactly) yours, especially the letting stuff pile up part. It’s so nerve-wracking to realize I have a ton ot things to do that are now urgent and could’ve been done quickly had I taken the time to do it the moment I learned I needed to.
    Maybe we’ll get there….

Trackbacks

