My favorite piece of advice that I’ve been given

Hmmm… advice, both asked for and unrequested, comes along on an almost daily basis.

From the most “basic” grandma-type of advice which I generally cringe from after hearing it three times a day, to the most eloquently phrased (let’s use the following, for the lack of a better word) professional advice we read on the internet and from books.

My own personal favorite? I think it’s quite a few (hundred and beyond that) people’s favorite. It comes from Anne Lamott’s “Bird by Bird” and reads:

“What people somehow forgot to mention when we were children was that we need to make messes in order to find out who we are and why we are here – and, by extension, what we’re supposed to be writing.”

It is the best advice I could’ve gotten at the time of my reading her book last year. So much so, that I talked about it before, in my guest post “Life and writing are messy – but you’ve gotta love the challenge!” on Fear of Writing.

And you know what? I love it so much, because it’s an evergreen piece of advice!

 

*Blog post inspired by this question from Danielle LaPorte’s The Burning Questions Series.

12 Comments to “My favorite piece of advice that I’ve been given”

  1. Perfect! :D

  2. Excellent advice, I like this. My favorite was from my grandma, she said to just be patient and things will cool down.

  3. Good pick! That quote perfectly expresses what I’ve been doing lately in my personal (non-blog, non-professional) writing. I [re]located the biggest sandbox that exists inside of me and jumped in with both feet. Whoo hoo! No rules, nobody to please but myself. Wish I hadn’t forgotten about it for so long. But – a bonus of getting older – I appreciate it a lot more now and will be more nurturing of it.

  4. It is ever green! How lovely that she’s not forgotten the importance of sometimes being messy!

  5. “Bird by Bird” is one of my favorite books too!

  6. Me too! Bird by Bird is always right next to me. Love the advice. Love the book.

