Recipe of the month: Avocado Deviled Eggs

I kept meaning to make deviled eggs for a while now, but somehow never got around to it. My friend Milli Thornton had shared with me a picture of some deviled eggs made to look like hatching baby chicks – so naturally, then I really wanted to make deviled eggs. I also kept meaning to try a recipe using Avocados.

That said, can you imagine my excitement when around Easter last month I found a recipe for Avocado Deviled Eggs?

With having Easter eggs for the holiday last month, I decided to make this for dinner. And oh boy, were they delicious. Delicious doesn’t even begin to cover it really!

I’m not waiting around for next Easter to make some more! ;)

IMG_4938-1

Avocado Deviled Eggs

(Prepare this not too long before serving, as the avocados may turn dark.)

6 hard boiled eggs
1 medium avocado, diced small
3 tablespoons mayonnaise
2 teaspoons freshly squeezed lemon juice
1/8 teaspoon garlic powder
1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper, or to taste
Salt to taste

Cut a little bit at the bottom of the boiled eggs so they will stand on their own. Then cut the top and carefully scoop out yolks. Mash yolks with a fork. Stir in diced avocados, mayonnaise, lemon juice, garlic powder, cayenne pepper, and salt to taste.

Fill egg whites with yolk mixture, add the “egg shell” top, decorate with olives or black pepper for eyes and carrots or red bell peppers for beaks. Place on a serving plate. Sprinkle with cayenne or fresh, chopped parsley.

 

*Recipe originally posted by Eating Well…Living Thin(er!)

Bon appétit! ;-)

12 Comments to “Recipe of the month: Avocado Deviled Eggs”

  1. OMG looks amazing — and will be delicious for sure – added to my must try list – thanks!

  2. Deviled eggs are amongst my favorite foods! I have never thought of putting an avocado in but I don’t know why not. Sounds fantastic.

  3. Those are the cutest little things!!! I’m so glad you loved them and are passing it on!

  4. Oh, Estrella! Those are just adorable! I’m sure they’re delicious, too!

  5. I bet these would be good as an egg salad. I always think about taking the easy road with recipes. :)

  6. Sounds so good!

