Money resentments to let go of

I had to think long and hard to answer this question. And I’m unsure of the “right” answer. But I resent high prices, and unappreciative people.

Guess one of my problems is that I’m always struggling financially. And as such, offer low prices for my crafts. I’m always weary of raising the price of refrigerator magnets for example because I figure people won’t buy them.

In April, I felt courageous and told clients how much their order messed up my time off “regular” work as I had to work on this freelance wedding favor order. One little heart took 15-20 minutes (not to mention the 30+ minutes of drying) and I was at it all day long Monday-next Saturday, I might as well have slept in my kitchen. It was beyond stressful!

I felt courageous and told the clients I wouldn’t mind if they reconsidered and paid full-price for the order (I have a 10% off policy for orders above 50 pieces and theirs was 120 – I add extras too in case anything should happen to them). They didn’t care.
But I felt so much better from asking. I’d rather regret doing something than not having tried at all!

So now, I went back and updated the prices of my crafts. I made sure I raised them high enough to repay my efforts. Yet low enough for people to still buy them :)

 

Now it’s your turn. What money resentments do you have…that you could let go of?

 

*Blog post inspired by this question from Danielle LaPorte’s The Burning Questions Series.

8 Comments to “Money resentments to let go of”

  1. Writing, of course. Seems the little things that make others happy, along with vital services receive the least compensation. I hope your new pricing works out better for you! xx

  2. So sad that your customers didn’t care enough to honor your fine work and dedication. But I’m so proud of you for asking them to reconsider and pay full price! I agree that the act of doing that was totally worth it, even though the customer didn’t soften their heart. It does take courage to speak up for yourself like that.

    As for me, I’m in the process of letting go of resentment about a student who has received a substantial amount of extra mentoring and assignments from me that he got for free and that I lavished great amounts of my time on. But he always refused to follow one simple rule that could have saved me so much stress. I finally terminated the arrangement, explaining clearly why, telling him my feelings but not attacking with it. It took me weeks of agonizing to be able to get to the point of writing that letter and I just finished writing it about an hour ago. So I don’t know yet how liberated I’m going to feel . . . but at least I’ve expressed my final resolution.

    • What can I say, stuff happens. But thank you, I also feel so much better for having asked.

      Hopefully you’re feeling much more liberated by now after terminating that arrangement. Having taken your 10K class, I know how hard you work for your students and how wonderful you are with everyone in part – and it’s sad if people don’t appreciate that!

  3. This has been a problem for me for much of my not-writer-professional life. It’s not one in my professional-writer life, because there’s been too little of that (yet) for it to become one. And, possibly some of the lessons are transferable – and will be transferred (the latter being the harder task, methinks.)

    Years ago, though still within the time I’ve lived here in the Bay Area, I was offered a full-time job at the company (startup) where I was, at the time, contracting. They offered $X. Unusually for me, I didn’t say “Yes, thank you.” but, rather, “Let me think on it.”

    Having thought, overnight, I said “No. $X doesn’t work for me.” I was genuinely sorry. I would have liked to work for them. To my surprise, they reworked their offer, (and had to re-balance their engineering pay scales while they were at it) and countered with $Y, a number I could live with (and on.)

    I recall my Dad commenting that “Ah, it seems Kevin’s growing up.” I would have thought “grown up” myself, but Dad was ever cautious. :-)

    Of late, given I’m considering a move (planning, not considering) to the Midwest, my current employer wanted to know, on moving, what I’d consider a reasonable rate. Again, no immediate response from me, but the question considered for a few days. My response of “the work product won’t change so, from my perspective, there doesn’t seem to be a reason for alteration of remuneration” was met with “let’s let it run for a few months and see what the situation is.”

    So, not resentments as such. Rather a realization (far too late in a career than makes sense) that talent, skill, experience and effectively-applied effort are deserving of fair recompense. And I mightn’t get such “fair recompense” unless I’m prepared to acknowledge the fairness of it.

    And, that’s the lesson I’m hoping I’ll transfer to my professional-writer life.

    Let me get back to you on that. :-}

    Glad it’s working out for you, Estrella.

    By the way, I left the startup after setting up a really good engineering team (but I don’t like being a manager). Years later the startup was bought – for billions (quite literally). *sigh* Life is ever thus.

    • Kevin, that is great advice. I like how you take the time to actually think it through. In my line of work that isn’t always the case, as with this order I was talking about, but I’ll try and keep myself from giving answers straight away when I’ll have another tough order.
      So good that it worked out well for you, it’s always so great to be appreciated and get that “fair recompense” :)
      And yes, I can’t wait to see you get back to me with your professional-writer life lessons!

  4. Really proud that you updated your prices. There are plenty of times that I wish I’d asked for more. Frankly, I believe it’s a gender thing.

    • Thank you!
      That it might be, Tammy, a gender thing. I have noticed among crafters for example, how men seem to have no problems asking for high prices.

