Recipe of the Month: (Our) Sicilian Bruschetta

Summer, especially because of fresh yummy tomatoes, screams “Bruschetta” to me.

It reminds me of my trip to Sicily every time I have some. It reminds me of the time my friends and I waited for more than and hour and a half for our dinner in Catania, Sicily. But the heavenly Bruschetta made up for it all!

Here’s mine and the Chef’s version.

page bruschetta

Our Sicilian Bruschetta

4 fresh tomatoes, halved, and diced fine

2 tablespoons finely chopped green onions

A few finely cut basil and sage leaves

Thinly sliced Mozzarella cheese

1 clove garlic

2 teaspoons capers, rinsed and chopped

2 teaspoons extra virgin olive oil, plus more for brushing toasts

1/2 teaspoon red wine vinegar

Pinch of white pepper

Pinch of salt

Crusty bread, sliced fairly thin, lightly toasted or grilled and brushed with extra virgin olive oil

Optionally 2 and 1/2 tablespoons chopped pitted Sicilian olives – I like olives, the Chef doesn’t

Mix all ingredients (except for bread) in a small bowl and let steep for about 45 minutes. Make sure to refrigerate if letting it steep for more than an hour.

Spoon onto toasted, oiled bread slices and serve.

Buon appetito! ;)

10 Comments to “Recipe of the Month: (Our) Sicilian Bruschetta”

  1. I’ll definitely give this one a try. Looks yummy!

  2. The herbs combo is lovely, can’t wait to give this a try.

  3. Tomatoes are my favorite fruit, thanks for this :)

  4. Love your recipes! Especially now that tomatoes are in season – yumm!

