Recipe of the month: Creamy Dill Sauce

I read a recipe for Parmesan-Crusted Fish with Creamy Dill Sauce back in February I think. I never got around to making it. Then, a few weeks ago, my mom asked if we were going to have fish for lunch (a friend of hers suggested to try it out with corn flake crumb breading)?

Of course I was all IN, it gave me the opportunity to try the dill sauce! And let me tell you something: it was absolutely delicious and super flavorful! :)

page creamy dill sauce

page grilled fish

Creamy Dill Sauce

  • salt and pepper
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1/4 cup mayonnaise
  • splash heavy cream or half and half
  • one lemon
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh dill, plus more for serving

To a bowl, add the sour cream, mayo, and heavy cream.  Then, using a teeny grater, grate in the garlic and lemon zest.

If you don’t have a handheld grater you can zest the garlic and lemon on the side of a box grater or just mince it really finely – no worries either way.

Save the lemon for serving, and mince up lots and lots of dill – it’s the star of the show here! Add the dill to the lemon/garlic/cream mixture with a sprinkle of salt and pepper, then stir everything together.

Taste your dip and add more of whatever you’d like, though!  Keep in mind that the garlic flavor will get a lot stronger as the dip sits, so don’t add more of that.

Yum.  Keep the dill sauce in the fridge while you get the main dish ready.

 

* Make the sauce first (like in the morning or even the night before) so it will get super duper flavorful for awhile before you eat.

* This dill sauce can also be used as a veggie dip – who needs packaged ranch when you have THIS?

* Recipe originally posted by FunnyLove ~ Eating our feelings, one kitchen disaster at a time.

Bon appétit! ;)

PS: tried this with grilled fish as well – it was possibly more yummy than before :)

11 Responses to “Recipe of the month: Creamy Dill Sauce”

  1. Oo, this looks and sounds yummy! I love Parmesan-crusted anything and the dill sauce sounds like a wonderful accompaniment. (I’m not a huge dill person, so I would go sparingly on adding dill at first until I reached the level of flavor I would most enjoy.)

    • I’m not a huge dill person either, in fact I avoid it as best as I can, but this combo was something I really wanted to try. I think you’ll like it, too! Plus, the thing with dill is that if you prepare the dip a few hours before serving, you don’t need to add too much as it will become more flavorful while you’re making the rest of the lunch/dinner.

  2. I can not wait to read more of your recipes, this sounds absolutely amazing. Cheers!

  3. I love anything with dill, thanks for sharing.

  4. i’m definitely adding this to my recipes, Estrella! i LOVE dill and i’ve been eating more fish lately ~ usually just with lemon juice so this will be a real treat!

Trackbacks

