Old Window Frame for an Inspiration Board

I absolutely LOVE the idea to use old window frames to decorate. We had to change all our windows last year, and as a result, ended up with a dozen windows no one needed (I still have several stashed away) ;)

This blog post right here got its title after I played around with one of the old window frames last year. Because I was pretty much broke. Yet I wanted and inspiration board in the kitchen as well (which tend to cost money, don’t they?)

So today, I’m sharing how I managed to make myself an inspiration board with a little wit and supplies I had around the house :)

page window frame inspiration board

page window frame ib

Old Window Frame Inspiration Board

I staple gunned chicken wire to the back and added a (hidden) wire picture hanger.

(Yes, I had this around the house. We used to have chicken when I was little. My grandparents never throw anything away.)

Roughed the frame up with sandpaper to give it a weathered look.

I hung it going with the “crooked look” – I think it just adds more flare to it.

Then I painted a bunch of clothes pins with different patters and colors and pinned them to the wire on my frame. For changing it up a little, I also hung some colorful paper clips on there.

I hung a pin cushion on it, and the window knob was perfect to hang the scissors from.

The frame works great for notes, inspirational quotes, pictures, to-do lists, cards, invites, reminders – the possibilities are endless!

 

And lastly, here’s my inspiration, some of my favorite blog posts on the subject.

Using old window frames to decorate

DIY Craft Projects using Old Vintage Windows and Doors

DIY: Jewelry Holder

How to make an awesome gift with items you find at an antique market

14 Comments to “Old Window Frame for an Inspiration Board”

  1. this is so inspiring, makes me want to go look for old window frames in the attic :) thank you for the idea!

  2. This is so cute! I love using things that would be thrown away, but turn into something beautiful with a little creativity.

  3. ohmigosh, this is so rustically beautiful . . . and I love the look of all the treasures you hung from it. Reading about your process of creating it was a work of art in itself. Very inspirational. And such a fun way to transform something that would’ve been thrown away without your loving eye seeing its potential.

    • Thanks, Milli, I’m so happy you liked it and see the beauty I saw in it. Sometimes having no money, helps with re-purposing things in a much better way than we would’ve initially thought of.

  4. Love this idea. I’ve been a bit out of touch with my kids in town – as you already saw from my blog, which is why I’m here as I’m going to check out your photo thing. Thanks for stopping by!

  5. I have to make one of these for my wife, she has tons and tons of earrings she could hang on something similar.

  6. Thanks for this idea. I just saw some window frames at a yard sale, small and pink, and had to have them before knowing what to actually do with them. Now I know :)

