Recipe of the month: Tuna Spread & French Spiced Salt

This right here is a two in one, as I like to call it. I like tuna. I love onions. However, sometimes I’m not in the mood to make this the way I usually mix things together. So I opt for the second version.

But rest assured: which ever version you try, you’ll like! :)

IMG_4586

Tuna Spread with Onions

1 can tuna
lemon juice
1 tbs mayo
one middle-sized red onion – chopped
white pepper, paprika, French spiced salt – to taste

Mix everything together and serve over bread.

 

IMG_5565

Tuna Spread with Green Olives

1 can tuna
lemon juice
1 tbs mayo
2 tbs green olives – chopped
white pepper, paprika, French spiced salt – to taste

Mix everything together and serve over bread.

 

I was looking for some seasoning ideas a few months ago and found this recipe for French Spiced Salt. I quickly mixed all the ingredients together and tried it with a large salad. It’s so fresh tasting, I just love it!

page french spiced salt

French Spiced Salt

5 parts salt
1 part nutmeg
1 part paprika
1 part black pepper

Mix all ingredients together and store in an airtight container.

Sprinkle on salads, grilled meats, fish;  French fries, baked potatoes, mashed potatoes, hash browns or any potato side dish instead of regular table salt for great flavor!

Bon appétit! ;)

8 Responses to “Recipe of the month: Tuna Spread & French Spiced Salt”

  1. I really like the idea of making your own spiced salt! That’s terrific. Do you mind if I blog about this sometime (pointing back to you)? I am a tuna fish lover also – my favorite sandwich.

    • I love the idea of making my own spiced salt as well, have a few other recipes I want to try.
      And of course, feel free to link to my recipes, Tammy, I’m happy you liked them this much!

  2. I love olives in my tuna salad, too. :) That salt sounds really good. I adore nutmeg & black pepper!

    • So great to hear that, Janel. Yes, olives in tuna salad are so great! I adore onions, but there are those times when I just can’t have onions before meeting with clients, etc. so having this recipe while I’m still in the mood for tuna is perfect.
      There may be more spiced salt recipes in future posts, I have a few others to try out sometime.

  3. i’ve been eating tuna at lot more frequently lately, so always happy to get new recipes! unfortunately, i’m on a low salt diet for the vertigo, but i’m sure the tuna spreads will be delicious anyway!

Trackbacks

