Recipe of the month: Melon and Chicken Salad

I had my eye on this recipe ever since it was posted. I couldn’t wait for everything to be in season here and make it. So today, I am reblogging. Because it was amazing!

IMG_7188-1

Melon and Chicken Salad

Ingredients

  • 1 honeydew melon
  • 6 cups cubed, cooked chicken meat
  • 2 cups chopped celery (I left this out cause I don’t like celery)
  • 2 cups seedless grapes
  • 1 (8 ounce) can sliced water chestnuts (left this out cause there aren’t any in Romania. Or at least I couldn’t find them)
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1/2 cup plain yogurt
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons curry powder
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions

  1. Cut melon in half, and remove seeds. With a melon baller, scoop out melon balls; place in a large salad bowl.
  2. Add chicken, celery, and grapes to melon. Add water chestnuts if desired.
  3. In a small bowl, mix together, sour cream, yogurt, and curry powder. Gently stir into salad. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Serve.

Bon appétit! :)

 

*Reblogged from FoodieVilla.

8 Comments to “Recipe of the month: Melon and Chicken Salad”

  1. This sounds good, except for the melon part. Not sure why, but watermelon is the only melon I like. :)

  2. This sounds wonderful, but melon season is over here, so I’ll have to try it when melons are in season again. Oh, and my daughter made pickled watermelon (when watermelon was in season) – I’m a HUGE fan of watermelon, but the thought of it pickled didn’t seem right. I did try it and it was better than I expected… however, I love my watermelon straight up!

    • Oh, well hope you remember to try this when melon is in season again :)
      Yeah, pickled didn’t seem right to me either for watermelon, but it was really good. I wouldn’t make it myself, but it’s nice to have once in a while.

  3. Interesting combo, I have to try it!

  4. Oooh, my family could demolish that in seconds flat! It looks wonderful and I would feel very virtuous indeed as well :) Yummo!

    Regards,
    Elva

