Names that make me smile

poetry I am living in timelessness, folks. Again, I thought it was Sunday, and when I learned with amazement that it’s actually Monday I couldn’t decide what to post here.

Since I started working at the curtain shop, and on account of the supply being overly generous, I keep stumbling onto new names of the different fabrics on stock.
They make me smile. Every. Single. Time.

Especially when I get to say: “I sold Palermo today.”

So… How about a list to make you smile, too?

My favorites so far, because of personal ties of some sort or just by association, are the following:

  • Poetry
  • Blackout
  • Mayo
  • Wood
  • Butterfly
  • Lion with flowers
  • Camel
  • City
  • Mandarin
  • Cube
  • Twister
  • Ricotta
  • Sinus
  • Henna
  • Latte

 

  • Palermo
  • Prague
  • Marseille
  • Milan
  • Ravenna
  • Roma
  • Padova
  • Manhattan
  • Toledo
  • Venezia
  • Luxor
  • Florence
  • Toscana
  • Dubai
  • Verona
  • Egypt

 

  • Ramses
  • Dante
  • Webber
  • Massa
  • Nessy
  • Nero
  • Onyx
  • Cheyenne
  • Cherokee

 

Hope you enjoyed ;)

Tags: , , ,

10 Comments to “Names that make me smile”

  1. I love your list. You should write all of these favorites down on little slips of paper and put them in a jar or bowl. It can be your well of inspiration when you need it. :)

    • That’s such a good idea, Janel! Unfortunately my creativity is stumped at the moment by my mind being all over the place (texted my colleague at 12:30 am last night to make sure I ordered a fabric, or for her to order it this morning cause the customer will drop by to pick it up today and I have the day off).
      But once January rolls around, things should calm down and I should be sane and in the mood to write again :P

  2. I like your list. I’ll have to give that one some thought… there are probably so many.

  3. What a fun list. I’m surprised at what fabric names people can come up with. Which one’s the most authentic or fitting from these?

    • So am I!
      Well, the city names are some of the most authentic so to say, they’re in tune with the cities’ fabric patterns. My favorite is Palermo which has very discreet leaves patterns, leaves exactly like the ones the city was filled with when I visited a few years ago.
      Also, if one says poetry is a bunch of gibberish lines, then the fabric reflect that well :P (see my photo here)

  4. I haven’t thought of this before, but what fun names fabric can have!

  5. How funny! I think the Ramses one is the best. Does it look anything like something Egyptian?

