On what should have been… – by Estrella Azul

His breath pungent with alcohol, his face drained and resembling someone’s — that someone whom I see before my mind’s eye is long gone. This man’s face is abound with already dried up blood. Frightened, I can’t help but walk away as he mumbles out to me and I throw back a “The bus will come in a few minutes” to him. Leaving him behind, all I can think of and hope is that he has somewhere and someone to go home to. On Christmas Eve. The evening which should’ve, for both of us, been one of the most wonderful times of the year.

8 Comments to “On what should have been… – by Estrella Azul”

  1. a scene that I’m sure was replayed all over the world and without us being aware of the small and great tragedies lying behind such an exchange between strangers. Nicely done.

  2. So sad. Unfortunately, things like this happen in real life instead of just fiction. Very emotional piece.

    • They surely do, unfortunately. And I’m sure they break a little every someone’s heart who can’t really do much else than walk away and hope for the best.
      Thanks for reading, honey!

  3. Someone always finds a way to ruin a holiday. It keeps coming around.

  4. How sad!

