My intentions for next year

I stumbled across one of artist Emily McDowell’s illustrations on Facebook last week. About it, Emily says: “In between all the holiday insanity, I’ve been thinking a lot about my intentions for 2013. How will I be with myself? How will I show up for myself and others? Where do I want to go?” Those questions inspired her to create this piece, recently added to her shop.

Her illustration, and the same questions inspired me to form my answers and end this year’s blogging with this declaration of my intentions for 2013.

estrellas intention 2013

For a writing declaration: I’ll join the Mindful Writing Challenge and write one small stone every day of January 2013.
It won’t be much length wise, for sure, but it will get me in the habit of carving out at least fifteen to twenty minutes of writing, ever single day.

As for a reading resolution: I’m challenging myself to read 25 books this year. In case things will be cool at work for a while, I might up that to 30 books.

I will also give up buying something else and buy one book each month in 2013. Who knows, if I’m lucky, I might just buy one of those on a trip somewhere in a different country.

Your turn. What are your declarations for next year?

16 Responses to “My intentions for next year”

  1. my declaration is to participate more in life!

    happy happy happy new year!

  2. I will not listen to my internal editor when it is being obnoxious and just write. :) Have a wonderful New Year!

  3. Not only do I want to write something every day, but I think I want to draw a little every day too. I’ll do my best.

  4. I’m sorry, but what’s the “one small stone” writing project? Or is it a “one small story” thing? But that’d be neat!

    I don’t now a declaration this year. Had a great one for 2012, but too preoccupied going into 2013 with novels, publishing and health dilemmas. I guess my declaration could be to do the best at those things I was already working on.

    • You can check out the link above, John. The small stones are something small or not so small that you notice on a given day, this month, every single day of it. It only goes as far as one or a few sentences usually, so that’s what I meant that length-wise it won’t be too much.

      And that is a wonderful declaration, John, I know you will do the best at all the things you are working on!

  5. I love the small stones idea Estrella, and I believe it’s exactly what I need right now, (going through a Major Life Change), so I will be participating, though it may be privately, for a while at least.
    My declaration for 2013? Gosh, I have many. I guess the one that I need to focus on the most is to rediscover who I truly am. Thanks so much for this wonderful post, (and sorry it took me so long to get to it).

    • Keeping you in my thoughts, conquering that Major Life Change! How is it going?
      Love your declaration, Deanna, hope it all works out well!

      • Thank you so much Estrella. Everything is going quite well (and I am surprised by that). I just posted my thoughts on small stones: http://wp.me/p1vQWZ-3H, and created a page in which to share them, (yes, a bit nervous about that).
        Thank you very much for introducting me to small stones!

        • Time has sped by, and here I am replying weeks later again. However, I love/loved all your small stones, and the poem you just posted on your blog, Deanna! Thank you for joining in with me, it was much more fun to do this with friends!

  6. Love your declaration. Also love the challenge. Late to it but may try it.

Trackbacks

