Recipe of the month: Pumpkin Spice Syrup & Latte

Most of you might know by now that I’m not a fan of coffee. Lattes and cappuccinos are okay, but they need some extra yumminess in there, like caramel syrup and a ton of sugar to make sure I drink them.

One morning before leaving for work at 6am, I drank a cup of coffee. Not because I wanted, but because there was no way my eyelids would stay open on their own. So I drank the coffee… but did not like it one bit. That was in November, and I still can’t even look at a cup of coffee!

So the other week, after I stayed up way past my bedtime the night before, I decided to have some coffee. The mere thought of it sent my mind screaming “NO way!”. But then, I started searching for and found something my friend Janel recommended.

Pumpkin Spice Latte. I gave it a go, and my gosh was it wonderful!

page pumpkin spice latte

Pumpkin Spice Syrup & Latte

Ingredients

  • 1½ cups water
  • 1½ cups sugar
  • 4 cinnamon sticks
  • 1 tsp. ground nutmeg
  • ½ tsp. ground ginger
  • ½ tsp. ground cloves
  • 1/4 cup pumpkin puree
  • 3 tsp. honey
  • butter-vanilla essence

Instructions

  1. Combine the water and sugar in a medium saucepan and heat over medium-high heat, stirring occasionally, until the sugar has completely dissolved.
  2. Toss in the cinnamon sticks and whisk in the remaining spices and the pumpkin puree. Continue to cook for about 5 minutes, stirring frequently.
  3. Remove from the heat and allow to cool for 10-15 minutes. Remove cinnamon sticks (or strain through a fine mesh strainer).
  4. Store in the refrigerator.
  5. To make a pumpkin spice latte: combine 2 ounces of hot coffee or 1 shot of hot espresso with 6 ounces of steamed low-fat milk. Stir in 2 tablespoons of pumpkin spice syrup. Taste and adjust amounts accordingly. Top as desired with freshly whipped cream or a dash of cinnamon and nutmeg.

    Goes wonderfully with stroopwafles! <3

Happy latte-drinking ;)

 

PS: You can use the strained leftover pumpkin for baking an easy pumpkin sheet cake. I always do!

 

*Recipe slightly adapted from Annie’s Eats.

17 Responses to “Recipe of the month: Pumpkin Spice Syrup & Latte”

  1. Could it be? Am I actually luring you to the coffee side? ;) I’m actually using a lighter roasted coffee right now to use less sugar and maybe even get back to drinking it black. But, there will always be a place in my heart for yummy, flavored lattes. Maple Pecan is my favorite right now.

    • You’re making it all sound so easy, and to tell the truth, with my low blood pressure, I often wish I did like and drank regular coffee.

      Luring me to the coffee side? No, that’s never gonna happen. (there’s a story idea in there)
      But you did make me drink the thing, so you get all the credit here! Especially since it is delicious!

  2. This sounds delicious… Shall try it sometime. :-)
    Eliz

  3. Pumpkin is my FAVORITE EVER! Thanks for this idea, it looks so good :)

  4. all. time. favorite. latte!

  5. This sounds absolutely delicious! I am definitely going to have to give this a try. Will keep you posted! :)

    • Thanks, Bellanda. Knowing how much you love coffee, I’m so glad you find this syrup interesting!
      Looking forward to the feedback from after you’ve given it a try :)

  6. Looks/sounds heavenly! How great to be able to make your Starbucks lattes at home :)

Trackbacks

