Sometimes, the answer is ever-changing

What does “a good life” mean to you? This was the question. And there were so, so many wonderful, heart breaking and tears inducing answers.

My answer?

“Hmm…” (I typed that and immediately ran a different direction leaving my comment on my friend j’s blog post in midair. Then I went back and elaborated on that).

I was thinking I don’t know how to define a good life. Or how to best describe it. How to say everything I want to say in less than a way too long list.

So I’ll just say this. Maybe it isn’t about a definition. Maybe it isn’t about the best description. Or saying everything in a list or in one word.
Maybe it’s all about that little inner compass pointing North when we’re headed in the right direction, and standing still when we have reached it.

And maybe, just maybe, the answer is ever-changing. Much like ourselves.

10 Comments to “Sometimes, the answer is ever-changing”

  1. My answer would be: A good life is when you assume nothing, do more, smile often, dream big, laugh a lot, and realize how blessed you are for what you have. I read this somewhere, but carried it with ever since!

  2. I like that… “ever-changing”!

  3. Ever-changing is the best way to put it Estrella. I was living a good life, I believed, until last fall when that life got whopped upside the head. So now I’m working towards building “the next good life”. I like Barb’s idea too. :)

  4. You are very close to the answer, I think. We’re ever changing ourselves, so how could it not be ever changing?

  5. A good life is when you worry only about the things that are in your control, the things that can be influenced and changed by your actions, not about the things that are beyond your capacity to direct or alter.

