Archive for February 25th, 2013

2013, February 25

Liqueur and Champagne bottle upcycling: Mood lamps

This is something I wanted to make since the end of 2011, yet haven’t managed to find the right tools. Read the second half of the previous sentence as: I have this little phobia of sharp, pain-inducing things and my fingers being in their vicinity on a surface that might shatter, so I wasn’t in any kind of hurry. ;)

I really wanted a unique mood lamp; this liqueur bottle saved for thirty or so years by my mom (nope, never throws anything away) was perfect for it. And also, I figured this would be the perfect gift for the Chef as he didn’t have a bedside lamp; so matted white bottle it was.

Then, just before Christmas last year I recalled my grandpa telling me years ago that one of our neighbors used to work with glass. I immediately rushed over, told him what I wanted and he helped me out with drilling two holes for the cords.

However, in case you don’t have a neighbor like mine, here’s a quick tutorial from Wit & Whistle, where I first saw the idea.

page liqueur bottle light My liqueur bottle mood lamp

page champagne bottle light  The Chef’s Birthday present

Liqueur and Champagne bottle upcycling: Mood lamps

You’ll need:

an empty wine bottle
a drill
safety glasses and gloves (just in case the bottle breaks)
1/2″ glass drill bit
masking tape
short strand of Christmas lights (with a plug only on one end)

How to:

1. Rinse out your wine bottle and remove the labels (if desired).

2. Place a piece of masking tape on the bottle where you want to drill the hole for the cord. The tape keeps the drill bit from slipping.

3. Put on your gloves and goggles and start drilling. Don’t apply too much pressure or you could break the glass. The drilling takes a long time. I spent about 30 minutes drilling the hole. Be patient!

4. Once your hole is drilled rinse the glass shavings out of your bottle, and let the bottle dry.

5. Carefully feed the strand of Christmas lights into the hole you drilled.

 

*tutorial from Wit & Whistle

For a different take on bottle upcycling, give Rukmini Roy’s tutorial a read DIY: Wine bottle pendant with stained glass effect & Tutorial – I really like this one as well!

Happy crafting! ;)

