One piece of technology I could live without

I’m not quite sure how I came to think about all of this really, but the thought just popped into my head the other day.

If there was ONE piece of technology I absolutely had to give up, and could live without, it’d be a phone.
While I do not debate its usefulness, and while I do know that the invention of it was the culmination of the work done by several individuals who might be turning in their graves right now as I type this — phone conversations just don’t do it for me.
I don’t like not seeing the person I’m talking to. I don’t like talking to my mother 20 times a day. I don’t like hearing the Chef’s voice with all the background noise that is more often than not way too loud. I don’t like walking on the street and having to turn the volume up so I can understand what the person on the other end of the line is saying.
And I don’t like listening to people’s conversations on buses; especially when two individuals are sitting next to one another shouting in their phones and only increasing the decibel levels cause they’re disturbing each others conversations.

So there you have it. I could easily live without my phone.

My little Samsung Galaxy Mini is safe from my giving up on it, but only because it’s smart enough to connect to Wi-Fi to allow me surfing the net, it sometimes takes okay enough pictures, and because it doubles as a very expensive watch and alarm clock. :)

 

Now tell me, in this day and age of all kinds of gadgets: what is one piece of technology You could live without?

12 Comments to “One piece of technology I could live without”

  1. I’m not sure whether I like this or not! I like the concept, but I’m far too attached to my technology bits! I guess the technology that I could live without includes the things I don’t have at the moment (e.g. iPad). I find that I’m attached far too much to my phone (because it does everything for me), my computer (because that’s how I connect with most people in my life), and my ereader (because I can carry hundreds of books with me wherever I go). I’m not sure if this means that my tech consumption is good (i.e. I only have what I need), but I do enjoy my tech… However, if we go low tech, then I can definitely live without my landline phone in the house… ;)

    • You’re too cute!
      I’m definitely not saying I don’t enjoy my tech, I probably couldn’t live without at least my laptop.
      But there’s another, for sure, now that you’ve mentioned it: the landline phone. Maybe also because it’s a phone and I enjoy real life conversations more, but I don’t even pick up the landline anymore. No one calls me, so I always let it ring until my grandparents pick up over at their place (one house over, but it rings in both places.)

  2. I could not live without my phone. I have a galaxy note. I could live without my hair dryer though. :)

    • Ha! Priorities and tech attachment are fun to notice in people. I, for one, couldn’t live without my hair dryer! It has to be melting-hot outside for me to be able to let my hair dry on its own and not catch a cold; so even during summer I have to use a hair dryer…

  3. I could live without television and all of the extras cable networks try to push on you. But I could not live without my phone. I understand what you are talking about, I don’t much like speaking on the phone either……. but there are things the can provide that are rather necessary, like 9-1-1 in emergencies.

    • I’m not debating a phone’s usefulness, I just could probably do well without it, too. But that is a great one, TV and all the cable extras that are being pushed on us. I rarely watch TV, usually only when someone else is watching and I have no choice. I’d much rather watch a movie or series (which I do enjoy) on my laptop without all the interruptions of commercials and being bound to a certain schedule.

  4. I could live without my phone, but only because I have a cheap one. If I got a nice smartphone, I doubt I’d say that, LOL!

  5. I’d have to go with dryers. We have one, but the weather is usually so nice, I hang dry everything instead :) It does come in handy during winter though.

    • Oh, I don’t have a dryer at all, so that is also a good example. Air drying ones clothes is much better, I think. But you have a point. During winter, I’d love to get that over with quickly instead of waiting around and dodging the drying rack until everything is ready for folding and putting away.

