Recipe of the Month: Summer Salad with Creamy Mayo Dressing

I LOVE salads! In any amount. I can not get enough of them over spring/summer when all the fresh ingredients are available to me from the farmer’s market.

So in anticipation of a new spring rolling in with its first fresh vegetables, I’m sharing a salad and dressing recipe. This is our go-to dressing, the Chef’s and mine.

I deliberately left out measurements this time. But only because it all depends on each of our individual taste and family demands ;)

page summer salad and dressing

Summer Salad with Creamy Dressing

Salad: lettuce, tomato, cucumber, onion, radish, capers, chicken strips.

Dressing: homemade mayonnaise of one egg yolk, sour cream, salt, white pepper, grated Parmesan cheese.

Chop all the vegetables, add to salad bowl.

Cook the chicken in a little olive oil, after cutting it up in strips.

Add it to the salad.

Mix together the ingredients of the salad dressing, by adding them all depending on your own taste.

Pour on salad when serving.

Bon appétit! ;)

13 Responses to “Recipe of the Month: Summer Salad with Creamy Mayo Dressing”

  1. I’ve been craving salads lately. Can’t wait for the farmer’s markets to open again! Creamy dressings like this are so good.

    • They sure are!
      How fitting. I just posted this, and my mom made a yummy salad-type dish with a creamy dressing yesterday! That will also be up as a recipe of the month in the coming ones :)

  2. Sounds DELICIOUS! Can’t wait to try it!

  3. Sounds delicious :) :)

  4. We have a show here called “The Splendid Table.” It’s on NPR (radio) and they’ve been talking up salads in anticipation of warmer weather. I eat salads through the year, not just in summer. Even tasteless, South American veggies are better than no veggies at all. Our local farmer’s market opens this weekend, and I can’t wait. All the food will be sooooooooooooooooooo fresh! Patsye

  5. Salads are the best, aren’t they? Thanks for the idea for this dressing. Certainly much better than store-bought, basically artificial stuff.

    • Oh yes, definitely! I love making my own dressing, dip and so on. Store-bought is never the first choice, unless on a homemade fair ;) Glad you like the recipe!

  6. Thank you! This is a terrific recipe, the dressing sounds especially nice :)

Trackbacks

