Recipe of the month: Éclairs

Lately, somehow, most things I love have been put on hold, or worse, go ignored and get lost during a procrastination kick. Daily.

But I’m starting to stand up for myself more. And for what I love and wish that I had more time doing.

So on Saturday, my mom and I made Éclairs. When in doubt, bake. Right?

Right!

These Éclairs served more than just one purpose: they got me out of my rut and reminded me why I love cooking and baking, made the perfect blog post, and are plain and simple – yummy!

page eclairs making of

page eclairs

Éclairs

250 ml water
190 ml oil
500 g flour
6 eggs
70-85 g semisweet chocolate
2 tablespoons butter
1 cup sugar (optional)
1 teaspoon vanilla

Preheat oven to 230 degrees C. Grease a cookie sheet.

In a medium saucepan, combine the oil and water. Bring to a boil, stirring well. Reduce heat to low, and add flour and a pinch of salt. Stir vigorously until the mixture leaves the sides of the pan and begins to form a stiff ball. Remove from heat. Add eggs, one at a time, beating them well to incorporate completely after each addition. Spoon, or pipe with a pastry bag, the dough onto cookie sheet. I personally like them more round, but you can make strips if you prefer.

Bake 15 minutes in the preheated oven, then reduce heat to 165 degrees C and bake 20 minutes more, until hollow sounding when lightly tapped on the bottom. Cool completely on a wire rack.

For the filling, combine pudding mix and milk in a medium bowl according to package directions.

Cut tops off of cooled pastry shells with a sharp knife. Fill shells with pudding mixture and re-place tops.

For the icing, melt 70-85 g semisweet chocolate and 2 tablespoons butter in a medium saucepan over low heat. Stir in 1 cup confectioners’ sugar if needed, and 1 teaspoon vanilla. Stir in hot water, one tablespoon at a time, until icing is smooth and has reached the desired consistency.

Remove from heat, cool slightly, and drizzle over filled Éclairs. Refrigerate until serving.

Tip for variety: these can also be filled with cream cheese, or even Salade du Boeuf, and served as appetizers.

 

Bon appétit! ;)

 

PS: It was beyond hot these past few days. So, as you can see above, I went with sprinkling powdered sugar on top instead of making the chocolate icing. They’re just as tasty!

3 Responses to “Recipe of the month: Éclairs”

  1. oooo! I would love to bake them. In fact I would. Yummy!
    I have never made eclairs before…and for 2 weeks now, I would have quite some time in my hands.

Trackbacks

