What are you reading right now? – That book survey that’s been getting around…

My friend Trisha posted this back in 2010. So yes, I’m very late to that party. But hey, it was a great blog post idea and nice to “inventory.”

At the moment I’m reading:

  1. The Happiness Project – Gretchen Rubin
  2. Writing to Change the World – Mary Pipher
  3. and am working my way through Curious Lists: A Creative Journal for List-Lovers – Chronicle Books

That said, I wonder: how many of the below listed books are being read? BBC believes most people will have read only 6.
As someone whose read-list jumped to 7 just from reading the entire Harry Potter series, I find their statement a bit hard to believe, but if they say so…

Instructions, because I’d love to see what you’ve read of these 100 books!

  • Bold those books you’ve read in their entirety, italicize the ones you started but didn’t finish or read an excerpt.
  • Link back to this entry if you decide to do a blog post yourself.
  • (or simply) Comment below with your list.

 

06 books 

  1. Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen
  2. The Lord of the Rings – JRR Tolkien
  3. Jane Eyre – Charlotte Bronte
  4. Harry Potter series – JK Rowling
  5. To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee
  6. The Bible
  7. Wuthering Heights – Emily Bronte
  8. Nineteen Eighty Four – George Orwell
  9. His Dark Materials – Philip Pullman
  10. Great Expectations – Charles Dickens
  11. Little Women – Louisa M Alcott
  12. Tess of the D’Urbervilles – Thomas Hardy
  13. Catch 22 – Joseph Heller
  14. Complete Works of Shakespeare
  15. Rebecca – Daphne Du Maurier
  16. The Hobbit – JRR Tolkien
  17. Birdsong – Sebastian Faulk
  18. Catcher in the Rye – JD Salinger
  19. The Time Traveller’s Wife – Audrey Niffenegger
  20. Middlemarch – George Eliot
  21. Gone With The Wind – Margaret Mitchell
  22. The Great Gatsby – F Scott Fitzgerald
  23. Bleak House – Charles Dickens
  24. War and Peace – Leo Tolstoy
  25. The Hitch Hiker’s Guide to the Galaxy – Douglas Adams
  26. Brideshead Revisited – Evelyn Waugh
  27. Crime and Punishment – Fyodor Dostoyevsky
  28. Grapes of Wrath – John Steinbeck
  29. Alice in Wonderland – Lewis Carroll
  30. The Wind in the Willows – Kenneth Grahame
  31. Anna Karenina – Leo Tolstoy
  32. David Copperfield – Charles Dickens
  33. Chronicles of Narnia – CS Lewis
  34. Emma – Jane Austen
  35. Persuasion – Jane Austen
  36. The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe
  37. The Kite Runner – Khaled Hosseini
  38. Captain Corelli’s Mandolin – Louis De Bernieres
  39. Memoirs of a Geisha – Arthur Golden
  40. Winnie the Pooh – AA Milne
  41. Animal Farm – George Orwell
  42. The Da Vinci Code – Dan Brown
  43. One Hundred Years of Solitude – Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  44. A Prayer for Owen Meaney – John Irving
  45. The Woman in White – Wilkie Collins
  46. Anne of Green Gables – LM Montgomery
  47. Far From The Madding Crowd – Thomas Hardy
  48. The Handmaid’s Tale – Margaret Atwood
  49. Lord of the Flies – William Golding
  50. Atonement – Ian McEwan
  51. Life of Pi – Yann Martel
  52. Dune – Frank Herbert
  53. Cold Comfort Farm – Stella Gibbons
  54. Sense and Sensibility – Jane Austen
  55. A Suitable Boy – Vikram Seth.
  56. The Shadow of the Wind – Carlos Ruiz Zafon
  57. A Tale Of Two Cities – Charles Dickens
  58. Brave New World – Aldous Huxley
  59. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time – Mark Haddon
  60. Love In The Time Of Cholera – Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  61. Of Mice and Men – John Steinbeck
  62. Lolita – Vladimir Nabokov
  63. The Secret History – Donna Tartt
  64. The Lovely Bones – Alice Sebold
  65. Count of Monte Cristo – Alexandre Dumas
  66. On The Road – Jack Kerouac
  67. Jude the Obscure – Thomas Hardy
  68. Bridget Jones’s Diary – Helen Fielding
  69. Midnight’s Children – Salman Rushdie
  70. Moby Dick – Herman Melville
  71. Oliver Twist – Charles Dickens
  72. Dracula – Bram Stoker
  73. The Secret Garden – Frances Hodgson Burnett
  74. Notes From A Small Island – Bill Bryson
  75. Ulysses – James Joyce
  76. The Bell Jar – Sylvia Plath
  77. Swallows and Amazons – Arthur Ransome
  78. Germinal – Emile Zola
  79. Vanity Fair – William Makepeace Thackeray
  80. Possession – AS Byatt.
  81. A Christmas Carol – Charles Dickens
  82. Cloud Atlas – David Mitchell
  83. The Color Purple – Alice Walker
  84. The Remains of the Day – Kazuo Ishiguro
  85. Madame Bovary – Gustave Flaubert
  86. A Fine Balance – Rohinton Mistry
  87. Charlotte’s Web – EB White
  88. The Five People You Meet In Heaven – Mitch Albom
  89. Adventures of Sherlock Holmes – Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
  90. The Faraway Tree Collection – Enid Blyton
  91. Heart of Darkness – Joseph Conrad
  92. The Little Prince – Antoine De Saint-Exupery
  93. The Wasp Factory – Iain Banks
  94. Watership Down – Richard Adams
  95. A Confederacy of Dunces – John Kennedy Toole
  96. A Town Like Alice – Nevil Shute
  97. The Three Musketeers – Alexandre Dumas
  98. Hamlet – William Shakespeare
  99. Charlie and the Chocolate Factory – Roald Dahl
  100. Les Miserables – Victor Hugo

 

Hmm… I have much more reading to do, although in general my reading doesn’t revolve around classics or many of the popular books. Only of books that I’ve marked as such on Goodreads I have 109 in the Read pile :)

 

So, what are you reading right now? How many of the above books have you read? Or do you also mostly read ones that are not listed here?

16 Comments to “What are you reading right now? – That book survey that’s been getting around…”

  1. I remember doing this. It is very hard for me to believe that most people have only read six of these, but then I’m a reader. Not being a reader mystifies me.
    ~jon

    http://madutopia.com/blog/2013/08/12/what-are-you-reading-right-now/

    • I had a hard time believing that most people will have read only six of these books. Especially since I know I had at least 20 of them as mandatory reading in high school.
      And, I know what you mean – I’m a reader, too. My numbers for this list have jumped to seven just from reading all the books of the Harry Potter series ;)

      Thanks for the reminder, I added in a list of what I am reading currently. And I liked your post a lot! Will drop by to comment tomorrow. Glad to have sparked your interest!

  2. The Chronicles of Narnia by CS Lewis (33 on this list) is also a series of seven novels. I find it really odd that The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe is 36 on this list since it is the first book in the Chronicles of Narnia series.

    Interesting list though!

    • I have no idea what criteria they used to compile this list, of if anything got lost/modified along the way ever since it first appeared. It is odd to have a title of a series on there as a separate item – who knows, maybe it’s because people might read the first book of a series and then not get to the rest? I don’t know…

  3. Oh, and of the list, I can only claim 30 of them.
    ~jon

  4. Hi Estrella – I’m reading “The Zen of Motorcycle Maintenance” and I’ve seen this before and sad to say, I didn’t have a mandatory reading in high school and was a late reader, since my parents were not readers. But I have read more than 6! I really like reading books that are recommended. My list is a mile long though…

    • Sounds like an interesting book, Lynn. And don’t worry, my list is a mile long, and not made up of these books alone – I read so much else. Are you on Goodreads? I like it for how organized it keeps me and my reading. Not the best for backtracking though ;)

    • Well, you’ve topped six, so that’s already a great thing :)

      If it wasn’t for mandatory reading lists in high school, I’m sure I wouldn’t have read as many as I have from the classics listed here.

  5. I’ve read quite a few but also many others that I’ve loved. Love in the Time of Cholera is an all time favorite. Today I am reading less and less and yes, blogging has something to do with that which I think is a problem. I picked up The Good Earth by Pearl Buck at the used book store yesterday.

    • How’s the reading going, have you finished The Good Earth by the time I get to reply? ;) Sounds like a good read.

      I try to balance things out, but only end up either reading too few books, or too few blogs. Oh, well. Maybe one day I’ll be caught up on both blogs and books I want to read!

  6. I’m with you Estrella, I find it hard to believe this list too, especially considering the series conundrum – ?
    I’ve read 30 on this list, most of which were very good (especially The Handmaid’s Tale, On the Road, and The Bell Jar).
    I may mention this post in my next book reviews, which I have a page for but haven’t updated in a month. Since then I’ve read four more novels, and though I normally read books that aren’t on the current best-sellers list, two of these, possibly three, were: Life After Life, by Kate Atkinson (not to be confused with Jill McCorkle’s Life After Life, also new and which I’ve also read), Tenth of December by George Saunders, They Don’t Dance Much, by James Ross (older), and The Woman Upstairs, by Claire Messud, all very good reads for very different reasons.
    I guess, among these, I’d have to choose The Woman Upstairs as the favorite novel and Tenth of December as the favorite anthology (since it’s in its own category). Atkinson’s Life After Life is a terrific story but can get very confusing if you aren’t totally absorbed in the story; it’s one I’d like to read again, and most likely will, to better understand.

    Well! I could’ve had my reviews half written! :)
    Thanks for sharing this Estrella.

  7. I am currently reading the women’s fiction novel, The Husband’s Secret. As I can state from having nearly finished it, it’s a compelling, thought provoking novel, inspired by an article about real life deathbed confessions and their surprising consequences. An intriguing examination of conscience, love, betrayal and forgiveness this novel seems like it will stay with you well after the last page has been turned.

