DIY Pencil Holders

Usually I throw away tin cans. Last summer however, I decided to try and make myself a couple of new pencil holders. Not that I was in need of them per se, but I wanted to craft some.

At first, I made myself two – a smaller and a larger one with a nautical, summery feel to them. Then, in September, I made a couple more – in the same format for myself, and two larger ones as gifts for friends with a Fall theme.

page pencil holders

DIY Pencil Holders

tin cans (or paper tubes, or cores)
yarn
glue
embellishment

Start gluing the yarn from the top. If you find the yarn is a little difficult to attach to the tube, wait until the glue is tacky before wrapping the yarn around.

After wrapping a few rounds, turn the tube upside down and continue wrapping. I found that working from bottom to top is much easier than working from top to bottom.

You may change the color of the yarn or just keep to one color.

Decorate the pencil holder with embellishment when the yarn is securely affix to the tin can. As you can see, I used sea shells and rocks, ribbon, bows, felt leaves, a wood butterfly and interesting buttons.

Happy crafting! ;)

4 Comments to “DIY Pencil Holders”

  1. These are so cute. I’ll have to give it a whirl some time. Also, thanks for the invite on FB about writing and I’m sorry I didn’t participate, but I was in California visiting my son – we surprised him for his 30th! Yikes, my baby is 30. I’m way behind on all my blog reading and just now catching up! Hope you’re having a good one!

    • Glad you like them, Lynn!
      And no worries about the writing day invite, they’re held each month, so when ever you feel like joining in, just drop by :)
      Happy belated birthday to your son! I’m sure you had an awesome time visiting.

  2. I love little storage things like this. I seem to collect pens and pencils, even though I don’t do it intentionally. Really, I don’t MEAN to buy so many pens. ;) I guess it’s a writer’s sickness.

