Recipe of the Month: Eglantine Jam for 87 cents/jar

I love homemade. Especially because I found that in 90% of the time, the quality and taste of many store-bought bottled and canned items pales in comparison to the real deal. Plus, homemade tends to be a huge money saver as well!

Such as the below recipe for Eglantine Jam (Rosehip Jam), which resulted in 18 jars (of 200 ml), and after some number crunching, was broken down to 87 cents/jar. (The cost would’ve been even less if I’d been able to gather the rosehip myself.)

Just for fun, I did a quick Google search. I learned that Rosehips are very rich in vitamin C (one-half pound of rosehips contains as much as is found in two pounds of lemons), they have more antioxidants than blueberries and contain a lot of iron as well. 

As far as prices go, it’s sold for around 5-6 Euros in France, and for around 7 Dollars in Italy and the US. It was mind boggling for me, but it really is that expensive! I asked my friend Bellanda, who lives in Paris, to check that fact for me and she confirmed.

With those numbers in mind, let’s see how one can make their own! ;)

 

IMG_0007-1

IMG_0040-1

Confiture d’Eglantine

8 liters Rosehip paste
4 kg sugar
A large saucepan
Canning jars and lids

Bring the Rosehip purée to a boil for about two hours, then add the sugar one kg at a time. Cook this mixture for 30 minutes, stirring constantly, then ease up and cook it for three-four hours more stirring every 15-20 minutes.

Put the jam in jars and seal them. I turned the jars upside down while warm, so they seal better and no air gets in.

The consistency of the jam depends on how long you cook it, and will also vary from year to year; some years it comes out firmer than others.

Some variations include adding in grated apples, diced oranges and lemon zest when cooking. (I’ll have to give that a try next year!)

This jam has a sweet, unique flavor and is perfect on morning toast, or as a dip with apples wedges (credit for the latter to my friend Trisha, who discovered they’re a great combo) :)

Bon appétit!

18 Responses to “Recipe of the Month: Eglantine Jam for 87 cents/jar”

  1. “Confiture de Gratte Culs” is a great name for seedy jam! I’d buy it in a heart beat.
    On a side note, I live in Newfoundland, Canada, where we regularly eat dandelion greens and we still call the flowering plants “piss-a-beds” to this day!

  2. I have no idea what rose hip paste is :( How does it taste? Rose like?
    Oh and also, is there a possibility of connecting with you on FB? Lv, Tru

    • Oh, too bad! It is really good, it tastes a bit rose like, but has a much richer flavour. I’m tempted to say it’s somewhat like hibiscus, that’s what it most resembles in taste.

      We’ve connected on FB since you commented here, sorry again for the late reply. Looking forward to your e-mail :)

  3. I definitely want to try that if I can find Rosehip paste.

    • Yay, let me know when you do.
      If you can’t find the rose hip paste, you can try and make your own. It’s a bit tricky if you haven’t ever done anything similar, but I’m positive you’d manage!

  4. Just bought a jar from a supermarket in Calais, France. It is lovely stuff.

  5. It is indeed rich in vitamin C as I’ve also read. And I can see why babies would like this, it’s yummy sweet while being healthy!

  6. Oh yes, go for it. Hope it turns out well!

  7. That’s a beautiful name, and I can see how it’d make you partial to flower-flavored foods ;)

  8. Oh, that’s funny! Translations tend to be like that everywhere it seems ;)

  9. Glad you like this tasty jam.
    That’s so good to hear, it was fun to read up on this and find that it’s widespread in France.

Trackbacks

