Recipe of the Month: Cinnamon Rolls

The scenery outside has drastically changed. Leaves are turning, while many of the trees have already lost them along with the happily chirping families that have flown to warmer climates.

A week ago the ice rink downtown, on the square I work near started getting built. It is nearly finished.
My fall coat is in the hamper by now, and I am heading to work in my winter coat, hat and a new (eternity) scarf starting today.

In no time, it’ll be minus 10 degrees Celsius and people will give up walking to work in favor of the bus, riding bikes will turn into weekly ice skating meetings.

That said, especially this time of year during chilly seasons, I crave fresh-out-of-the-oven yummy-ness. Be that in the form of cookies, pumpkin sheet cake, éclairs, apricot tarts or muffins – I want them!

Although, when I think of sweater weather, Cinnamon Rolls are what most often come to mind.
So why don’t I always make cinnamon rolls? They’re a bit more complicated and time consuming than what I’m usually into. That’s why.

However! When I do set my mind to it (read as: ask mom to bake’em), they’re the perfect treat <3

page cinnamon rollspage cinnamon rolls 2

IMG_0295-1

Cinnamon Rolls

1/2 kg flour
3 egg yolks
3 dg yeast
4 dl milk (will be used in three parts)
18 dg sugar
15 dg butter or margarine
1/4 vanilla stick
2-3 tbsp cinnamon

From the 1/2 flour, the 3 egg yolks, the yeast dissolved in 1/2 dl milk, the 3 dg sugar, 2 dl milk and a pinch of salt knead a strudel thickness type dough and leave it rest in a warm place for half an hour.

On a lightly floured surface, roll thin using a rolling pin. Mix together the 15 dg butter with 15 dg sugar and the 2-3 tbsp cinnamon and spread onto the dough. Starting at one end, tightly roll up the dough and situate seam side down. Then cut the dough into 1.5 – 2 inch sections and position into a baking sheet-lined pan. Leave it rest for 1 1/2 hours until it rises nicely.

Once risen, bake in a preheated oven at 350 degrees for about 25-30 minutes.

Take the pan out, pour the 2 dl milk and vanilla mixture onto rolls, and bake for an extra 5-10 minutes.

Note: they are perfect even if you skip the cinnamon part, so in case you’re not too fond of cinnamon, don’t feel compelled to add that in!

For a truly authentic sweater weather touch, serve the cinnamon rolls fresh out of the oven with mulled wine or a hot cup of tea while making yourself nice and cozy in your reading corner.

Bon appétit! ;)

This week, I’ll try out something I saw on my friend Janel’s blog, and link my recipe up as part of the Weekend Cooking meme.

10 Comments to “Recipe of the Month: Cinnamon Rolls”

  1. I love cinnamon rolls! You should see the ones from some of the bakeries around here, I’d say they are probably at least three times as tall as yours. Huge! (Just ignore the calories when you eat a baked good that is almost as big as your head, LOL.)

    • Well, let me know if you try to bake these, I wanna see the size of them! They’re not as huge here in bakeries, but I fully agree with your thought to just ignore the calories when you eat a baked good that is almost as big as your head :)

  2. These seem really yummy, but I’m trying to stay away from sweets for awhile… wah.

  3. These look amazing! Perfect for the season.

  4. I adore cinnamon rolls! Now you have me craving them.

