My 2013 in books

My 2013 Reading Challenge goal (which I’m keeping an eye on, on Goodreads) was set on January 1st, at 01:43AM this year, and I aimed to read 25 books, as I had the year before.
Since that night, I’ve updated my goal twice – once I upped it to 30 as I was off to a great start, then I upped it to 35 a couple of weeks ago when I noticed my reading challenge widget showed 35 books read and I was already halfway through no.36.
Today, my final count stands at 37 books.
I’ll leave it as is now and won’t update it again, as it does give me great satisfaction to see more than 100% under the little widget ;)

I really like how Goodreads keeps track of quite a few things. I mean, I wouldn’t by my own accord start adding up numbers to see how many pages I’ve read, but Goodreads does – 5670, of which the longest was The Confessions of Catherine de Medici by C.W. Gortner.
My absolute favorites are still John Green’s books (read two of his books for the first time, and The Fault in Our Stars a third time).
Only thing that would make me even happier with their service? If Goodreads managed to incorporate an option to read a book several times!

What I notice now, is that I haven’t read as many long works as I have in the previous years.
This is probably due to the fact that I managed to read a lot at work at the beginning of 2013, choosing anthologies of flash fiction and novellas however, so it’d be easier to pick the pace back up after dealing with customers. Also, as I mentioned in one of my blog posts recently, these past few weeks I’ve been reading a lot of seasonal stories, which mostly came in flash fiction, short story and novella form.
My busiest reading periods were in between: January-April, June, and then November-December. Looking back, this fully agrees with my schedule, and it is when I myself have felt that there was more time on my hands. It makes me happy to see, in writing, that I did occupy it with reading.

My top favorite reads:

  • Save as Draft, by Cavanaugh Lee — It was well written, and I especially liked the idea behind it. All the while I was reading, I kept thinking "there’s so much left unsent, so much left unsaid" in our day to day lives. I’m sometimes guilty of doing this myself, of saving drafts instead of hitting send… The other thing I enjoyed, was the format. Written exclusively in form or e-mails and text, I could not only relate to the characters, but actually care about them more. I mean, e-mails/etc. are private. So, for me, this novel brought the characters that much closer to my heart as I peeked into their personal lives – even more so than a novel written in first person.
  • Bossypants, by Tina Fey — I really liked her style, even read a few passages to my mom. And on top of that, it was laugh-out-loud hilarious.
  • The Introvert’s Way, by Sophia Dembling — Like one of the reviews on Goodreads says, once in a rare while, you come across a book that you can give to family, friends, spouses, or lovers and say, "If you really want to understand me, read this." This is such book.
  • (The Fault in Our Stars, by John Green – As already stated above.)

Below is a print screen of all the titles I’ve read this year. Take a look, and check out the list itself on Goodreads. Who knows, you might see something you’d also like to read.

My 2013 in books

Now, please let me know in the comments below how many books you’ve read this year? And what are your favorite reads for 2013 (or previous years)?

Since I was very close to this figure in 2013, I decided to challenge myself to read 40 books in 2014. So, don’t hold back, I always love a good book recommendation!

Here’s to a great 2014, filled with lots of reading!

7 Responses to “My 2013 in books”

  1. Really eclectic taste! I made some fabulous discoveries in 2013. My four recommends are all British writers, all great in different ways…

    The Lighthouse by Alison Moore (VERY bleak but beautifully written and compelling)
    Ten Things I’ve Learnt About Love by Sarah Butler (simply lovely novel about family, London with a very hopeful ending)
    Lazarus is Dead by Richard Beard (fascinating take on why Lazarus had to die for Jesus’s life to make sense)
    The Humans by Matt Haig (brilliant, funny and sad by turns – an alien’s view on what it means to be human)

  2. Looks like you had some great reads in 2013. I read 130 books last year, including poetry and kids books. It was a good year. There were so many i loved this year, but you can check out the full list here if you want: http://savvyverseandwit.com/2013/12/the-best-of-2013-list.html

    • Thanks, Serena, I did like 99% of the books read in 2013.
      I was going to drop by your blog sooner or later this week, I recall you having lists made of your best reads in previous years as well. Thanks for leaving me the direct link to it. Your blog overall is a fountain of great books at any time of the year!

  3. You inspired me yet again! I was wondering what I should do with my booklist, but now I’ve shared it. As you know, I had a pretty “relaxing” 2013 (well, by my standards, anyway), so I got to read a fair few books. My favourite for the year was “The One Hundred Year Old Man Who Climbed Out The Window and Disappeared” by Jonas Jonasson. I seem to have caught a bug for Swedish authors and they keep surprising me with their different take on life and stories. Love it!

    There are some others that I enjoyed as well, but my centurion really stole my heart… And I ended up with a book hangover! Anyway, I’ve listed some more of my favourites here: http://tabras.wordpress.com/2014/01/07/reading-in-2013/.

    Nice post, too! :D

    • Yay, I inspired you – cool! :D And your blog post reminded me I forgot to include the top books that I liked in 2013, so thank you!
      “The One Hundred Year Old Man Who Climbed Out The Window and Disappeared” sounds interesting, I’ll have to check it out myself. Thank you for the great blog post of recommendations over on your blog; your Goodreads shelf is actually something I often look over before ordering books :)

Trackbacks

