Recipe of the Month: Crunchy Chicken Fingers

My preferred (so, favorite) meat is chicken. Probably because greasy food doesn’t sit well with me as you may have already noticed from the recipes I’ve posted here over the years.

Another thing I’ve been focusing on lately, is oven baking anything that allows it, as opposed to deep frying. I have even switched to oven-fries instead of French Fries over last summer!
That said, below is how I now prepare crunchy chicken tenders. It is a recipe from Lucinda Scala Quinn, whose cooking I like precisely because almost all the dishes are light, and easy to make :)

 page crunchy chicken tenders 1

page crunchy chicken tenders 2

Crunchy Chicken Fingers

Ingredients

  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 2 pounds boneless, skinless chicken breast, pounded to even thickness, cut into strips
  • 2 cups whole wheat breadcrumbs
  • Olive oil, for drizzling

Directions

Heat oven to 400 degrees. Line a baking sheet with a wire rack, or with parchment paper. Combine buttermilk, mustard, salt, and cayenne in a nonreactive dish. Dip the chicken in this mixture and transfer to a dish with breadcrumbs, pressing to coat.

Transfer to your baking sheet. Drizzle with oil. Bake until golden and chicken is cooked through, about 16 minutes. Season with salt.

Serve the crunchy chicken tenders to your/your family’s liking with dressing, creamy dill sauce, salad, hot sauce, etc.

 

Note: We make our own breadcrumbs as opposed to buying them from the store – there’s always leftover bread no one wants to eat, so I leave it to dry or pop it into the still-hot oven after I finish baking, then grind and store it in an airtight container.

Bon appétit! ;)

10 Comments to “Recipe of the Month: Crunchy Chicken Fingers”

  1. I was wondering what to have for dinner… thanks! Hope all is well with you!

    • :) Hope it turned out as wonderful as it did when I baked this recipe. Did you and the hubby like it?
      Things are well, starting to settle down again, finally. Switching jobs was a bit hectic for a while there.
      Hope all is well with you, too!

  2. That looks wonderful, I also like chicken!

  3. This looks yummy. I have some chicken breasts in the fridge with no plans written for them yet. I just need to pick up some buttermilk from the store and I’ll be able to make these. Thanks for the inspiration!

  4. I used this recipe to cook dinner tonight. I liked crumbing the chicken with a buttermilk-based wettening agent—the typical egg-based wettener I’ve always used makes such a mess. I think I’ll use buttermilk from now on.

    I had to adapt the recipe. I thought I had some broccoli to serve with it, but when I opened the veggie drawer, nada. I looked everywhere for a side dish and could only find a box of Madras lentils (the kind you boil in the bag). So I added a curry blend to the buttermilk mixture to make the entire dinner “Indian.”

    I was nervous that Brian would say the dinner “clashed” (his occasional accusation against my cooking) but he said it was good! Whew.

    Thanks for the recipe. I enjoyed making it. :~)

    • Oh. Right. Disregard my previous comment reply ;) I was taking them progressively and just now noticed this comment of yours.

      It makes me beyond happy to hear how well this turned out, even adapted into an Indian dish! Curry sounds great to add, and I’d give it a go with some vegetable-rice as a side dish.
      Good to hear Brian liked it, too, it really is a simple, yet not that common recipe that just about anyone can prepare in no time.

      The pleasure is mine entirely, you’ll have to take a pic next time you make it, so I can feel even prouder :P

  5. Looks delicious and I LOVE homemade breadcrumbs!

    • This comment certainly means a lot coming from you, Miss former-food-blogger, still-foodie! :) Thank you for dropping by and commenting.
      And, I know, why throw away perfectly good bread only because there’s too much of it, when you can make your own breadcrumbs?

