Five reasons it’s great to be a writer

I read this list of ten reasons it’s great to be a writer, on AuthorCulture (yes, years ago!) which they’ve re-blogged, originally written by Elspeth Antonelli, and thought to myself: I need to come up with my own list.

So… here it goes.

  1. Doesn’t matter if you’re a cat/dog/bunny person — any pet will be a good writing companion as long as you don’t forget to feed them while immersed in your words.
  2. You are free to read what ever you like – when one of your choices might be frowned upon, you can just call it research. (And as Elspeth herself has phrased it, “Actually, anything can be explained as research – it just takes a bit of thought.”)
  3. You can look at nearly anything and see way beyond everyone around you does. Say you’re at a wedding, and need a survival guide? You’ll write it yourself.
  4. You can be completely schizophrenic about wanting to be alone and wanting everyone gone when you’re deep in thoughts; and then wanting them back the minute they’re not around.
  5. If you are really, really lucky, your friends will let you get away with simply observing and not chiming in too much in their conversations during a night out — they’ll know (and understand) you’re writing plotting even when you’re not physically putting pen to paper.

What other reasons can You come up with?

8 Comments to “Five reasons it’s great to be a writer”

  1. Love your list! I don’t have a pet right now (I’m a cat person when I do have one) but I keep pictures and statuettes of animals all over my office, and they are my special writing companions.

    #4 was hilarious! And gives me some extra self-acceptance.

    Another facet of that I heard at a party was about two women who live together about 45 minutes drive from town. One works at home and one works in town. When Town Girl gets home after a hard day’s work, all she wants to do is be cozy at home and shut out all the stimulation. Whereas her partner, who has been alone all day, says, “Let’s go out for dinner! I’m desperate for some human contact.” This happens a lot with me and Brian.

    Here’s the start of my own list:

    It’s OK to do stupid things while you’ve got your mind fixated on your writing . . . it’s far more enriching to be that sunk into a rich inner reality than it is to be perfect at some mundane task. (Just try convincing an engineer of that! :D )

    • Let me say, I love how you phrased being a cat person when you have a pet :) And of course, statuettes and pictures of animals work well, too. Plus, you can totally imagine them having a conversation or something!

      #4 was fun to write up, too bad I can’t be like that even from before starting to renovate at home…
      That is a funny story about the two women who live together and have days so different what with being in town all day/at home all day.
      Too much of either scenario is a hassle to deal with, I think.

      And I love your first item on this list! It truly is far more enriching, even my ODC/perfectionist self admits as much ;)

  2. I’ll have to give this some thought… perhaps I’ll write my own post about it!

  3. Estrella–I especially like #3. Your list makes me think of what I would have said…

  4. I like # 2 best…saying something is research is easier than explaining much of what I read! Also have a new dog that will become a great writing pal I think!

