Four questions. Okay, actually Five.

My friend Lynn, from over at Present Letters, has tagged me to answer four questions on my blog. About three weeks late, I’ll do that now :)

I know she doesn’t mind though. Lynn is a lovely woman and great writer, whose epistolary work (she shares it on her blog, go ahead and stop by her place) makes me want to write a letter every single day.

So here are the four questions and my answers:

1.  What am I working on?
Currently I am working on a travel article for the travel website I am staff writer and photo editor of, and I am also working on a guest post which will be up in a few weeks over at ArtiPeeps as part of my second showcase there.

2.  How does my work differ from others of its genre?
Regarding my fiction especially, one of the most striking differences when compared to other flash fiction in the genre is that I hardly ever name my characters. I am very particular about names, and also good with them when it comes to remembering something about the person behind them. I mean, I still remember that he kid, who sat in the desk behind mine in Chemistry class and pulled my hair in fifth grade was Robert. This leads to my conclusion that I won’t every write a romantic story featuring any Roberts. (Or maybe a horror story where a Robert’s car is haunted? Hmm… (Re: haunted car – cause haunted houses are aplenty.) ;)

3.  Why do I write what I do?
Flash fiction and poems draw me in because I like using few words, yet packing a punch so to say. I’ve never aimed for too high word counts, except when aiming to write 10K in a day.     

4.  How does your writing process work?
This depends a lot on my mood and the things going on at the time of writing. Sometimes I might sit down with an idea fully-formed and I am just the one taking dictation until it’s all out and on paper. Other times, I hear things/see things that intrigue me and I start writing something to explore my thoughts and feelings about said things – and it might take me weeks to finish just a few paragraphs. Usually however, I sit down and do my best to finish my work at least up until only smaller revisions are necessary before hitting “publish”.

5. Do you have a dream or a desire in the creative world? Why aren’t you doing something about it?
One of my dreams is to turn my year-long photo challenge from 2011 into an e-book. I even started to. It wouldn’t be too long. I have my blog posts and all sorts of material at the ready for it to be compiled into an e-book. But why I haven’t done anything else about it, I’m not even sure. Maybe saying it out loud/typing it here will help.

This last one was a bonus question I answered from one of Lynn’s recent blog posts. What would you guys reply – to any or all of the above?

5 Responses to “Four questions. Okay, actually Five.”

  1. Thanks for participating and for the shout-outs, you’re way too sweet. I love the idea of your dream and I, for one, look forward to seeing it!

  2. You could have been a haiku writer in another lifetime! Nice, I’d love to express my thoughts in a few words sometimes!

    • I don’t know about being a haiku writer in another lifetime, but I am glad that people like my writing in this lifetime :) Thanks for telling me this, you’re really sweet!

Trackbacks

