Heart Mapping

First off, I’d like to thank everyone for their comments on last week’s love letter to myself. And also thanks to all the people who commented and liked my Facebook status a couple of days after the blog post went up, after I found out about getting the technical writer job! It means so much to me to see that much support, I really do love you guys for being so sweet! *huge hugs to each and every one of you*
I start next Monday, and can’t wait to see how it all goes!

Last week’s assignment in the year of following the 52/52 e-guide in 2015, was heart mapping. The idea was of mapping something, whatever grounds us in our life and also lights us up inside.

I actually wanted to give this a try a few years ago, but it didn’t go too well. And by that I mean that I ended up procrastinating so much about it, that I ended up not doing it.
This past week, I Googled heart mapping, and was amazed at the results. There are so many beautiful heart maps out there!
I kept wanting to print out a human heart. An actual human heart shape, because I’m not that good when it comes to drawing. I wanted to have the outline, and draw in the veins myself, write all that I wanted onto the heart, then add depth and show things in a kind of “order” by coloring my heart map in, somewhat like a topographic map. This was the plan, anyways.

Instead, I ended up simplifying it to the bare minimum after forgetting to print myself that human heart outline.
So, I drew a highly imperfect heart, and just started writing things into it. I first wrote, then drew a little line to separate everything, so it doesn’t reflect any kind of order or importance, all is as small or large a part of the heart as I wrote them out. When I ran out of space, I made the heart bigger by adding a sort of edge to it and filling that in as well. Also, I left a little space empty, just because there are sooo many things I have yet to discover, and I am positive my heart will be filled with more things as the days, weeks and years go by.

heart mapping

I drew it into my travelogue, because I think having my heart map in there will be a nice way for me to think of all these things when I travel. I tore out the first heart I drew. It took a couple of hours to finish, to be truly happy with what I’ve drawn and written. Some letters are smudged a little bit, showing when/where Pixel jumped after my pen. Several things are written upside down, cause I kept turning it every which way while writing.
And truth be told, I still want to turn it into a heart map with a human heart outline, like I mentioned above.

But I still really love the way it turned out! And it was such a fun exercise!

heart mapping 2

The assignment for week 8, is to Find Your Life Theme. Inspired by Alex Franzen who wrote a post that began, “I believe every life has a theme.”, ended with “Here’s to thematic revelation,” and in between, it asked questions designed to help one identify the overarching theme of their own life, Judy urges us to give it a try.
I think this will be an interesting exercise for me! Hope you join in, too.

Have you done any heart mapping? Either this week, or any time before? I’d love to see it if you have it published on your blog, or took a picture of it! :)

PS: If you’re interested in joining us, you don’t have to have the e-guide to play, but if you’d like it, you can buy it in the shop.

13 Responses to “Heart Mapping”

  1. I haven’t been on FB in a while to be able to congratulate you on your new job! YAY! So happy for you.

  2. Ohhhhh, this is wonderful! I LOVE your heart map. You’ve inspired me to do one of my own. (P.S. That’s so cute about the Pixel smudges. :~)

    • Thanks, Milli! Glad you liked it, and I hope you send me a picture of yours after you finish heart mapping.
      PS: yeah, he was super cute while munching on my pen, couldn’t even stay mad at him :P

  3. Heehee, those wicked cute kitties that are hard to be mad at! (I love that ‘Kitties’ has its own territory on your map, with lots of love-hearts.)

    • True, cuteness is hard to overlook, even when one’s upset ;)
      Kitties needed its own category, no question about it. The four little hearts are substitutes for all four kitties I currently love love love love <3

  4. I love your map, especially the part where you left some open space for the unknown. Beautiful!

  5. I looked at your heart map and it’s so funny that we have many similar likes and loves on our pictures. Thank you for helping me with this project. I’m trying to stick with my writing schedule and getting completely off track when faced with a project I’m unsure of. Thank you for your never-ending support; it is greatly appreciated!

    • We do have many similar likes and loves, don’t we?
      It’s a pleasure to help/give you advice when I can – I recall it wasn’t always easy going through the guide last year on my own. So any way I can support you in your journey through it this year, I’m right here!

Trackbacks

