Celebrating my body, in London

Last week in the year of loving ourselves fearlessly the assignment was to Celebrate our Body, and, well I can say that my week of body celebration went sort of okay.

The thing is I traveled to London for training. And, every time something about my body behaved as you know, a body part and not this all-knowing, always best-behaving thing, I thought criticizing thoughts.

In her e-mail to us self-love warriors, j shared her trick to refocus her thoughts when her thoughts were relentlessly mean. She immediately thought a good thought when her mind was in a dark place so to speak. When I read that, I recognized doing somewhat the same thing myself this past week.

London Eye

I thought about how my hair was misbehaving, how my feet and head hurt, how sleepy I was. And, looking back, I did try to counteract it by telling myself “You’re in London. You may complain about being tired and your feet hurting and everything else when you get home.”
I should’ve probably phrased that better and focused on how my hair is a gorgeous color and it was clean and shiny and stayed that way for the duration of my stay so I didn’t need to wash it and lose two hours out of my time on that alone. I should’ve phrased it differently and thought about how my feet did get me there and of how lucky I was to be able to visit London every evening after finishing up at work and walking a LOT (from London Eye to the Clock Tower, to Tower Bridge, to Westminster Abbey and all the way to Platform 9 ¾ at King’s Cross.)

On the other hand, it was a good thing that my days were packed with work and visiting, and so, I didn’t have too much time to think of all of the things I dislike about my body (as I unfortunately do nearly all the time here at home).

Also, I rewarded myself/my body with yummy food like delicious Avocado BLT, Chicken Avocado and Wild Crayfish sandwiches, with Indian Curry, fishcakes and chips, with Pomegranate Raspberry tea, hot chocolate and Full On Fudge Brownies Milkshake.
It was the first week in a while (okay, probably since high school) when I woke up earlier than normally and had breakfast every morning instead of just a latte before leaving for work, and thus I had three meals a day instead of just lunch and dinner.

I also walked a lot, and even though it wiped me out by the end of the week, I really enjoyed it, and decided I want to go to the gym at least once a week after getting back home. I do have a complementary gym membership from the company, so I’d be crazy not to use it.
I think that is a good start to feel better about myself and my body, overall.

The assignment for week 12 is to Solicit Love Mantras.
Here’s what it says in the 52-52 e-guide

Imagine if your friend said to you, “I’m collecting love mantras from people who know just how flawed I am and love me anyway. I’m going to read these mantras to myself whenever I’m feeling insignificant and unsure. They’ll remind me not to get caught up in the voice that says I’m not good (smart, big, savvy, talented) enough. They’ll remind me to embrace my naturally badass ways. They’ll remind me that no matter how alone I feel… I’m not.”

What would you do? Write a kickass, take-no-prisoners mantra for your friend, right?

This week, go out and ask the people who love you most to write you a love mantra. (You can write them one too; they’re fun to write.)

How was your week? Did you celebrate your body? Or more importantly, do you need reminders to do so, or does it come naturally to you?

PS: If you’re interested in joining us, you don’t have to have the e-guide to play, but if you’d like it, you can buy it in the shop.

5 Responses to “Celebrating my body, in London”

  1. Yay you! I think I would have done even better had I spent the week in London! That is the secret to body-love. ; )

    • Thanks, j :) I was incredibly lucky to celebrate my body in London, for sure. And like I joked right after getting back, there I had three meals a day, now I’m back to two and my body lets me know how much better I celebrated it when trying all sorts of different food ;)
      It’s interesting how careful we are with our bodies, when we’re not in our usual environment at home, and how we can neglect it when we are…

  2. You amaze me, Estrella. You really do. In everything you do, you find the positives and the ways that you can make it better next time. I’m lucky enough to have met you in real life, and I would never have imagined that you thought those things about yourself; you ooze confidence in yourself and your body, especially when you travel! It is pretty amazing to read this now and to realise that on so many levels we are the same (we = you and me; we = humans in general). I love that you have courage and power to write these types of posts and that you are living fearlessly now. I did miss you last year when life got in the way of your writing; I’m so happy that you’re back.

    For you, I have a love mantra, if I can understand it and get it right… I haven’t heard of them before, but they sound a little like love letters, but personal. Here goes…

    Estrella, You are one amazing human being; you are unafraid of everything – of putting yourself out there for everyone to see. You bare your soul and show us that love and compassion is all the world really needs. Your ability to share your life, your understandings, and your truths is mind-blowing; add to that that English is not your first language (more likely your third), and it just becomes even more amazing to someone like me who only grew up with one language and has attempted to learn other languages, but has never reached the depth of understanding that you have. You are an inspiration to many, including me. You inspire me to be a better person and to appreciate all that I have. Your love for life – and all its entirety including good and bad – is truly wonderful, full of wonder. Amazing. If ever you have a down day or moment, just remember that there’s a whole world who loves and appreciates you for you, for what you do, for what you share. <3

    Many hugs and much love… tabras…

    • I love you so much for being my friend, for commenting and leaving me a love mantra without my even asking. You have a way of knowing exactly when to e-mail me, or when to comment – when I need it most.
      Sharing such personal thoughts isn’t easy at all, but I guess that’s the whole point of this year of loving ourselves fearlessly – fearlessly sharing even when we’d rather crawl under a rock.
      Thank you for your kind words, and for opening my eyes to how much good other people see in me when I fail to recognize my potential and achievements in a moment of insecurity…

      Much love, huge hugs and kisses to you :* <3

Trackbacks

