Do One Thing That Scares You

In the year of loving ourselves fearlessly during week 15, the assignment was to Do One Thing That Scares You. To be quite honest, for my very introverted self that was easier said than done. Mainly, because in the beginning I kept thinking of one big scary thing I should do come up and graciously I would slay that dragon…

In my blog post last week, I added a few suggestions for you off the top of my head. They included: pet a squirrel, buy shoes by yourself, say I love You first, have lunch alone, try cooking dinner, buy a new type of plant, leave the house without makeup on, go dancing, say “no” to someone you love.
Now, not all of these things are scary for me, but I know that real or imagined, many different things scare us on a daily basis. And the easiest is to start small in conquering our fear, and as we go on living our life, our fear diminishes. This won’t include *everything* that scares us, of course, but by doing it progressively we will become more daring.

On the other hand, after two days in which I thought “Nothing scary came up so far, what will I do if things still won’t appear by the end of the week?” I decided to think of all these small things and make a note of how I do something that scares me, every day. Below is my list for last week:

  • I dared to eat in public, though the food wasn’t from the place we were at.
  • I took a chance on editing documents the way it seemed best, to me.
  • I mastered using Styles in Word.
  • I stayed in a coffee shop even though a friend of my ex boyfriend was there, too.
  • I stopped avoiding sitting next to people I don’t know, at work during lunch.
  • I accepted compliments for my job well done.
  • I reached out to a dear friend and had a short talk over Facebook when I felt a bit depressed.

And you know what the interesting thing about my week was? Before it, I haven’t consciously paid attention to just how many things that scare me I already do on a daily basis. It pumped me up for what is yet to overcome!

 The assignment for week 16 is to Practice Hugging Daily. In the 52-52 e-mail, j sums up this suggestion perfectly, so I’ll leave you with her words for this one:
“This week, you don’t have to hug strangers if you don’t want to. You can hug people you know, but do it consciously. Be aware of your heart and theirs and all the magic that exists in a hug; there’s a lot. And the best thing about hugs is that the love flows both ways.”

How was your week? Did you do one thing that scares you? Or more than one? Was it difficult, or was it made easier if you re-framed how you thought about it?

PS: If you’re interested in joining us, you don’t have to have the e-guide to play, but if you’d like it, you can buy it in the shop.

2 Comments to “Do One Thing That Scares You”

  1. LOVE this: And you know what the interesting thing about my week was? Before it, I haven’t consciously paid attention to just how many things that scare me I already do on a daily basis. It pumped me up for what is yet to overcome!

    That is what doing stuff that scares us is all about! xoxo

