My Artist’s Date and my Personal Manifesto…

I’m a bit late in posting about my Artist’s Date, which was the assignment for Week 18 in the year of loving ourselves fearlessly.

In my last blog post, I said how great it’d be to take yourself on a date and do something that inspires you. And I was hoping that for me, it would be as simple as a walk in the Botanical Garden which I’ve been meaning to write about (and a relaxing walk through it while taking lots of photos sparks my creativity, and at the end of said walk I’d rush home to put all my thoughts to paper).

Well, needless to say that walk never happened. The Tulips aren’t in bloom anymore, so I put the walk off and haven’t realized it until the week had past.
So my big date turned out to be a Saturday in. I went out to toss the trash and buy bread, and walked back on a different route. Children were outside playing, mom’s were chatting by fences and dads were fixing cars in the background.
After that short walk, I came home to Pixel and started cooking. Nothing fancy, just normal, yummy food to have over the weekend. But I realized it has been way too long since I cooked and baked every weekend. Life is harried on most days, and it’s so easy grabbing a bite at lunch in the city during the week, that it made me all the more happy to just be by myself and cook. It cleared my mind like nothing else could have!

Then, for week 19, the assignment was to Write our Personal Manifestos. From the guide…

“I love manifestos. I love the certainty of them, the optimism of writing out your aspirations as faits accomplis, the boldness of life plans deeply rooted in personal values.

They’re mission statements with personality, business plans for the soul.

This week, write a personal manifesto. Dig deep. Put it all down on paper – where you’re going, how you’re getting there, the beliefs and principles that guide you, consciously or not, every step of the way. Get conscious. Take your time. Add to it daily. This is you, as art.

Even though I initially wanted to flake on writing one, luckily I followed j’s suggestion and typed “manifestos” into Google. The Image results definitely inspired me, made me want to play with image editing – and so, below is my own manifesto:

Estrella's Personal Manifesto

The assignment for week 20, this week, is to Leave Love Lying Around. As j suggests in the guide:
“Choose any (or all) of the options listed below.

Write lipstick messages on the mirror.
Bomb your neighborhood with tear off posters.
Make post-it note art.
Draw love in chalk on the sidewalk.
Leave love notes in surprising places.
Declare yourself (boldly, beautifully).
Leave bookmarks in library books.
Bake something heart-shaped.
Light some candles.
Tuck a flower under a windshield wiper.
Leave a Scrabble note.”

Oh, how much fun I had leaving love notes behind every day for a full month a few years ago. This will be a great week, I just know it!

How were your past two weeks? Did you take yourself on an Artist’s Date? Have you written a Personal Manifesto? Or have you had one written for a while now? I’d love to see!

PS: If you’re interested in joining us, you don’t have to have the e-guide to play, but if you’d like it, you can buy it in the shop.

6 Comments to “My Artist’s Date and my Personal Manifesto…”

  1. LOVE your manifesto! I know you have to be really patient when you work with typography. Excellent job!

    • Thanks! And yes, even just doing this digitally took quite a bit of patience. Good thing I chose not to do it by hand lettering… would’ve wasted too much paper ;)

  2. Love your Manifesto!!!! It makes me want to do one. Sounds like you’re having fun with this 52 weeks! YAY!

    • Thank you, Lynn! Glad you liked it. Have you made one yourself in the end?
      And yes, I am having fun with the 52-52 assignments. You’d love some of them!

  3. Reblogged this on Make It Your Problem and commented:
    I am exploring examples of personal manifestos and there is lots in Estrella’s I like.

