Visit a favorite place; send yourself a postcard

In the year of loving ourselves fearlessly, this week the assignment was to Visit a favorite place; send yourself a postcard. When I wrote my initial thoughts on this suggestion, I said that I can’t wait to look at postcards I brought home from places I visited, and maybe even mail one of them to myself!

Well, that didn’t happen. I don’t have *all* of my stuff with me since living with my boyfriend, and the pretty postcards I brought home from places I visited and loved are nicely placed under the clear glass top of my desk at my mom’s.
So instead, I decided to go through photos of my old trips. That did the trick!

I started with London, since that was my most recent trip, and looking through the photos on my phone, all the memories came rushing back. It also reminded me, that I delayed buying a post card on several evenings and ended up forgetting before I left on Friday… So, I e-mailed myself the photo below.

A smile and two kind words can turn around your day!

A smile and two kind words can turn around your day!

I thought about how much I enjoyed everything in London!
All the people who were very very nice, both at work and if I was asking for directions or anything they were kind and went our of their way to be helpful.
I loved the double decker buses! And while I was more comfortable riding on the top deck for more than three stops, it was nice because for two days I rode with my friend Stephany so was sure to get off at the right stop, and then in Kingston where I was staying/working I couldn’t have gotten lost had I wanted to, cause it’s such a small place.

It was funny, because I had a few days stay there, but I did not get used to which side of the road I was supposed to look before crossing the street (neither with looking down and reading where the sidewalk said to look, because obviously we don’t have that here in Romania).
Repeatedly I waited for buses on the wrong side of the street, and had several buses pass me before someone pointed out that I need to signal the bus driver (the way you signal a taxi driver) if I wanted it to stop for me.
And the currency… don’t even try asking me about it, because aside from the full pound, I have no idea which penny is which, etc.

Also, I even managed to overlook pushing the button which said “push to open door” and rode an extra stop with the train at around 11:45 pm only to then have to cross to the other side, wait for another train and ride one stop back to the one I needed.
The train conductor, a lady, smiled at me and wished me a good night as I was walking all tired, feet hurting and upset about having missed my stop earlier, towards the gates in the right station. She hadn’t seen my clumsiness, of course. This made me smile and forget about it all, thanked her and wished her an easy shift. This is one of my favorite “people moments” from that trip!

Writing this blog post, the assignment itself and going through the photos from my trip prompted the thought that I should mail myself a postcard when I travel next. From every trip, actually. It would be so cool to sum up a thought, a feeling and have it arrive by mail on a beautiful postcard after getting home.

The assignment for week 22 is to Smile at Strangers. Wow, does it go oh-so-nicely with my favorite people moment which I just detailed above from my London trip! Here’s what j said about smiling at strangers, in the 52-52 guide:
“You may feel surprised by the times when you hesitate, or by the times when you absolutely don’t hesitate, and you see it happen, the little jolt in someone else, the light that comes on behind the eyes of a person who was, until the moment of your smile, running on autopilot.”

How was your week? Did you leave visit a favorite place? Or did you also just take a stroll down memory lane by looking at photos, postcards and other mementos you brought back from previous trips? Have you mailed yourself a postcard either this past week, or ever before?

PS: If you’re interested in joining us, you don’t have to have the e-guide to play, but if you’d like it, you can buy it in the shop.

3 Responses to “Visit a favorite place; send yourself a postcard”

  1. I love the idea of sending a postcard to yourself! YAY!

Trackbacks

