Don’t ride anyone else’s rollercoaster

The assignment for last week in the year of loving ourselves fearlessly, was to keep ourselves in check and Don’t ride on anyone else’s rollercoaster.
Like I said in my last blog post as well, I think that we all do it, ride on someone else’s rollercoaster, more than we should. Or at least, I know I do. And it is time to correct that.
Even when you are  totally right to want to state your case, and believe that when you do the other people involved will act like sane, rational people – the moment they respond like spoiled brats, get off their rollercoaster and enjoy your own ride.

While being conscious of not getting on and riding other people’s rollercoasters, I remembered the following quote:
“How often do you let other people’s nonsense change your mood? Do you let a bad driver, rude waiter, curt boss, or an insensitive employee ruin your day? Unless you’re the Terminator, you’re probably set back on your heels. However, the mark of your success is how quickly you can refocus on what’s important in your life.” by David J. Pollay, author of The Law of the Garbage Truck.
So this past week, I payed more attention to both strangers and those close to me.

With the people I know personally, when a rollercoaster-jumping situation appeared, I focused and thought about times when I reacted inappropriately and thought what might be going on in their personal lives to make them react rudely. It wasn’t easy(!), but I tried to have more compassion towards those who were dumping their frustrations on me, probably unknowingly.

I kept my cool and responded politely. I kept in mind that I am in control of my responses to how others treat me, that I am the one who can let people ruin my days, and this helped me have happier days. I kept a smile on my face, stayed on the high road and didn’t get on anyone’s rollercoaster, or at the very least got off the rollercoaster quickly.

The assignment for week 27 is to Say Yes! To an outing even when you feel like you’d rather go straight home after work, to helping someone with what will take you ten to fifteen minutes instead of the hour it might take them, or most especially say yes to that wild, inadvisable dream you have. 
And as j explained it in the 52-52 guide, the most important thing during this week and this exercise is to “question every no. Understand where it comes from. Understand your reasons. If they’re sound, go ahead. If they’re based in fear, stop. Take a deep breath.” and say Yes.

How was your week? Did you manage to keep yourself from riding other people’s rollercoasters? Or did you cave in and felt miserable while trying to keep your own sanity? Did you remember that you are the one who can let others ruin your day, or keep them from doing so?

PS: If you’re interested in joining us, you don’t have to have the e-guide to play, but if you’d like it, you can buy it in the shop.

4 Comments to “Don’t ride anyone else’s rollercoaster”

  1. I sometimes find it useful to remember the Polish expression “Not my circus, not my monkeys.” Even when another is judging me, I know it doesn’t define who I am, it defines who they are. I’ve never heard the roller coaster analogy before.

    • That’s an interesting Polish expression! I never heard this before, but boy do I love it :)
      You’re so right, when people judge us it does define them instead of us, I’ll have to keep this in mind, too.

  2. I love reading your posts :-). This is a great reminder. Thanks Estrella

