My “Songs to be belted” playlist

For last week in the year of loving ourselves fearlessly, the assignment was to Make a “songs to be belted” playlist.
j said that for her, collecting songs for such a playlist was fun because not every song she likes is a song she loves to belt, and I completely understand that. Some songs are just for yourself, to belt any and every single time you hear them.

Below is my “Songs to be belted” playlist, or at least the playlist I thought of this week. It could easily change depending on my mood.

  • Uptown girl; Bop bop baby; Us against the world; The reason, by Westlife
  • All out of love, cover by Delta Goodrem and Westlife
  • Just Give Me A Reason, cover by Luke Conard and Helena&Maria
  • Back to December, cover by Luke Conard and Ingrid Nilsen
  • Spirit in the sky, by Norman Greenbaum
  • Anyone of us, by Gareth Gates
  • Right here; Goodnight Moon; Louder than words, by HeyHiHello
  • B-e-a-utiful, by Megan Nicole
  • Love me like you do, by Ellie Goulding
  • Friend of mine, by Treble Charger
  • What makes you beautiful, One Direction
  • Never let it end, by Dancs Annamari
  • Woke up this way; Break free from silence, by Antal Timi
  • On Road 67, by Republic

The assignment for week 33 is to Play. Here’s what j said about it in the 52-52 guide:
“Play /plā/ Verb:

To engage in activity for enjoyment and recreation rather than a serious or practical purpose.
Recently I was talking to a friend and she said she’s forgotten how to play. She said she’s noticed that when she plays with her children, she feels awkward, overly aware of herself.
I don’t think she’s an anomaly, though I wish she was. I think a lot of us forget how to play over time. We get older. We run less (and almost never for the sake of running). We don’t twirl at the drop of a hat, spinning about like tops until we’re too dizzy to stand. Our time gets filled with the stuff that pays our bills, and we forget how interesting ants are, how exhilarating it is to skip a stone across a pond, how awesome the view is from the branch of a tree.
In my opinion, there needs to be more colored chalk in our lives, more games of tag, more Crazy Eights, more cupcake eating – no hands.
This week, take every opportunity to play.”

I’ve recently bought a jump rope to add to my evening exercise routine. And one of the first thoughts I had, after wondering “Oh my god, how did I last doing this for hour on end when I was a child?” while trying to catch my breath, was that it’s great and I’ve forgotten how much fun I used to have! Let’s see how this week goes when I’ll deliberately incorporate play into my daily routine.

How was your week? Did you make a songs to be belted playlist? Do you usually sing along when a song you love comes up on the radio? Or are you not a singer, no matter what?

PS: If you’re interested in joining us, you don’t have to have the e-guide to play, but if you’d like it, you can buy it in the shop.

2 Comments to “My “Songs to be belted” playlist”

  1. Oooooo, thanks for asking, I shall enjoy this question.

    Don’t Dream It’s Over by Crowded House – melancholic and dream like

    Unfinished Sympathy by Massive Attack – has great depth

    Clair de Lune – Claude Debussy – utterly beautiful and occasionally brings a tear to my eye

    Bright Eyes by Art Garfunkel – beautifully sad and ALWAYS makes me cry

    Sleepwalk by Santo and Johnny – whimsical, like a daydream

    No-one Knows by QOTSA – rock the shit out

    Superstition by Stevie Wonder – impossibly funky, just try and not strut when this comes on.

    Sweet Disposition by The Temper Trap – makes you want to dance and sing in your living room

    Moon River by Andy Williams – It’s a beautiful song and reminds me of my dad; he sung it to me in the pub.

    Holes by Mercury Rev

    And one extra-
    Backstreet’s Back by The Backstreet Boys ( Yeah? And? Do you wanna say something? Huh? Huh?). GOT. TO. DANCE.

    That’s my top ten at the moment, but there are thousands I love from every genre there is. To the angels that first discovered music, thank you, a million times, thank you. It’s one of life’s very best things.

Leave a reply. You'll be rewarded with cookies!

