Play like you’re a little girl or a boxer

The assignment for last week in the year of loving ourselves fearlessly was to Play.

My friend Stephany and I were just talking about this the week before, when we met up in London. We talked about sooo many things, and then about how not much has changed since we were kids. We got along just as well, it was like she never moved away to New Zealand.
She told me how tough it was on her to move away. We used to go out in the streets around our houses with the kids around the neighborhood and play. Hopscotch, French hopscotch in snail layout, jump rope, tag, hide and seek, and so on. She said kids in New Zealand didn’t do that much where she lived (they preferred staying inside), and it was a big adjustment for her.
However, now at 26+ years of age, we both feel that we don’t play enough anymore. We came to the conclusion that we’re doing far more stuff that we don’t necessarily want, than the stuff we’re passionate about. I was so happy to be there with her, and implicitly to take her out of the house and her usual routine so that she also relaxed and could unwind after work and everything else she has on her plate.

I’ve recently bought a jump rope to add to my evening exercise routine.
The conversation with my boyfriend went something like this:
– I want to jump rope, too. Mine is in the attic somewhere. Do you happen to have one at your dad’s?
– That’s a good idea. No, I don’t have a jump rope.
– Why? Didn’t you have one growing up?
– No. Because I wasn’t a little girl or a boxer…

Anyway one of the first thoughts I had after jumping rope the first evening, right after wondering “Oh my god, how did I last doing this for hours on end when I was a child?” while trying to catch my breath, was that it’s great and I’ve forgotten how much fun I used to have!

On the other hand, I was so busy and felt so scattered that I nearly said I didn’t play last week. But in truth, I played Ice Age Village on my tablet, read on the train and goofed off with my boyfriend on the train/on the road, we drove into the next town over one night before going home just for fun because we love the new car, and I played with Pixel every day.
I wonder why the tendency to dismiss small things like these exists in us instead of focusing on them, especially when we’re having a hectic week?

For week 34, the assignment is to Photograph the stuff you love. Here’s what j said about this week’s assignment in the 52-52 guide:
“There is something about a camera, or rather there is something about looking at the world through a camera’s lens. You notice things you didn’t notice before. You appreciate the beauty of things you may never have seen as beautiful before. What you choose to capture has innate importance; it says something about you and the world you live in.
This week, take pictures of the stuff (places, people, food, activities) you love. Put them in an album. Share them with someone who loves you.”

I look forward to it! I am still posting beautiful London pics on Instagram, but will surely photograph things in my immediate surroundings every day. I’ll share them here in a collage, next week.

How was your week? Did you play? Do you usually incorporate that into your day because you have kids and play with them? If not, did you visit nieces, nephews or grandchildren? Or did you play just for play’s sake without wanting anyone else around to prompt it?

PS: If you’re interested in joining us, you don’t have to have the e-guide to play, but if you’d like it, you can buy it in the shop.

Leave a reply. You'll be rewarded with cookies!

