Stretch every day

Last week in the year of loving ourselves fearlessly, the assignment was to stretch every day. And, I did just that.
Here’s the very cute doodle j has in the 52-52 Guide for this past week.

stretch every day

Bodily, I’ve taken up the habit of stretching my back every half an hour or so at work, given I’m sitting at my desk for 8 hrs a day. I also do this when I work from home, except there it’s easier as I can move from the couch to the bar stool, to the desk or to the bed; it’s fun to switch around my spot every now and then.

Mentally and spiritually, I’ve started reading “Better than before” by Gretchen Rubin, and what I’ve noticed is that even though I’m around page 50, I’m already starting to stretch. I’m already starting to go beyond my reach, because habits have enormous influence over our spiritual lives, as well as our work life, family life, health, etc.
Probably because of this month being beginning-of-school-year time in most time zones, September is the time most of us get back into a routine, including getting back to proper eating habits after the seemingly endless barbecues and parties of summer.
So I think that this past week’s assignment was perfect for nudging me towards stretching myself a bit more, spiritually.

The assignment for Week 38 is to Write an “I am not old” Poem. The thing is however, j urges us to “write it out: you are not old (or alone, or lesser, or afraid). Write what you are. Boldly. Lyrically. Like you know it to be true. Because of course, it is.” I’m curious how this will go for me.

How was your week? Did you stretch every day? Bodily? Mentally? Spiritually? In every which way?

PS: If you’re interested in joining us, you don’t have to have the e-guide to play, but if you’d like it, you can buy it in the shop.

