Start a new practice

The assignment for last week in the year of loving ourselves fearlessly was to start a new practice. To be truthful, try as I might, I simply couldn’t keep with starting one. Life has become much more complicated overnight, and it’ll be a couple of weeks before things get back to normal around here.
As silly as it might sound, at the moment I can’t bring myself to start something new. I need to feel less scattered before giving this a go.

It’s okay to be afraid sometimes. To be anxious. I have trouble believing that I have what I need to be okay. But the truth is that we all do—somehow, someway, we always do. I don’t always reach the realization that I do have the means to weather any storm. That I am stronger than I give myself credit for.

Two things I did do, on Sunday night (which was the tenth day that I felt rushed and stressed out, and quite depressed by Sunday afternoon, truth be told), was to go for a short walk with my boyfriend in a park we’ve never been to, and after getting home I declared: “while you’re watching the game, and mom’s watching TV, I’m taking a shower and reading in bed for two hours!”
If I didn’t have my book with me I would’ve been happy with just sitting and looking at the walls. I needed a bit of time to clear my mind.
That was it. That was all I needed. Two hours to myself in a quiet, cozy space. No interruptions. I felt so much more relaxed by the time my reading hours were up!

The assignment for Week 41 is to Doodle.
j explains that “doodling isn’t the same as drawing. It’s a game in which there is no object, an art form with no rules, which makes doing it badly or wrong impossible. The dictionary defines a doodle as “idle scribbling.” Seriously. What could be more harmless (and wonderful) than that? Doodles are like little wordless poems or sparkling fragments of dreams.”
I completely agree with this. And, I seriously need to do this in the following week. It’ll help ground me, I’m sure, while doodling something cute.
In case you’re still shaking your head “No!” at the thought of doodling something yourself, j has some lovely coloring pages up on her website which you could print out for yourself and have fun with. Who knows, you might like them and want her “Art Out Loud” coloring book, either as a physical book, or as an instant download!

How was your week? Did you start a new practice? What did you start? Was it easy to keep with it, or did you struggle? Will you keep this practice, or did it turn out to not be as fun/essential/useful as you first thought?

PS: If you’re interested in joining us, you don’t have to have the e-guide to play, but if you’d like it, you can buy it in the shop.

3 Responses to “Start a new practice”

  1. You’re doing good to be able to keep up with this “practice” so cut yourself some slack for not doing something. It’s nice to take care of ourselves!

    • You’re so sweet, Lynn! Thank you *hugs you tight*
      And, I like how you used the word practice to describe my year so far… I guess this is a practice which I started this year, taking more care of myself, being more mindful and trying to love myself fearlessly. I haven’t thought of it this way before, so thanks for phrasing your comment this way :*

Trackbacks

Leave a reply. You'll be rewarded with cookies!

