This week, indulge yourself

fall candleLast week’s assignment in the year of loving ourselves fearlessly was to indulge ourselves. As j phrased it, “You define it. What is pure indulgence for you? This week, do that.” And it’s exactly what I did.

One evening when I was home alone for about three hours (a rarity these days), I had an early dinner, took a shower and cosied into bed with three kitties and my tablet after lighting several scented candles. So relaxing… I definitely need to do this more often.
It was such a great feeling to just lay there, uninterrupted, browsing through Instagram and Pinterest by candlelight while the room filled up with Fall scents!

The assignment for Week 43 is to Be Unapologetic. Here’s what j says about apologies in the 52-52 guide, I fully agree… even though I’m fully a compulsive apologizer.
“A couple of years ago, I noticed how often I was apologizing. Reflexively. Because it was easier and certainly more expedient than an explanation. But it wasn’t just that I used an apology to swiftly discharge a potentially tense encounter or soften a difficult message, I apologized for the weather, for traffic, for all kinds of things that were not only not my fault, but nobody’s fault. I once apologized for being on vacation when someone was trying to reach me… and, honestly, I wasn’t sorry at all.
I know I’m not the only compulsive apologizer. It happens all the time – people apologizing for things they need not feel bad about. If you never do that, yay! This week will be easy for you. If you do, this is going to be tough, but absolutely worth it. For one week, only say you’re sorry if you truly owe someone an apology. Think about it first. Decide if it’s real. (Hint: If you bump into someone accidentally, the right term is “Excuse me,” not “I’m sorry.”) Be discerning. Say sorry only when you really, truly are.”

How was your week? Did you indulge yourself? Even in case you didn’t, let me know in the comments below: what does indulgence look like for you?

PS: If you’re interested in joining us, you don’t have to have the e-guide to play, but if you’d like it, you can buy it in the shop.

