Be Surprising

Last week’s assignment in the year of loving ourselves fearlessly was to Be Surprising. Honestly, I haven’t really given this assignment much thought before just now when I sat down to write about my week. So I could’ve been more surprising, I’m sure.

In any event, here’s the rundown of my last week:
I made lasagna (okay, so I technically bought it made, but popped it in the oven myself) for dinner, baked Panettone (this one from scratch), paid for mom’s massage, surprised friends on their birthdays, bought some Christmas presents early, and invited a colleague to lunch.
It was a good week!

The assignment for Week 45 is to Perform a Burning Ceremony. Here’s what j says about it in the 52-52 guide, since she explains so well how she performs a burning ceremony.
“There are probably a lot of ways to do a burning ceremony. This is how I do it.
First, I write something down that I want to let go of. Usually, it’s a big thing, something I’ve wrestled with, written about, cried over; something I finally feel ready to release. Usually, it’s a thing that has left me angry or hurt, but twice, I’ve used a burning ceremony to let go of an unhealthy relationship.
So I write whatever it is on the paper and fold it up. I light a fire in the little portable pit in our backyard. Using tongs, I hold the paper over the fire until it catches, and then I watch it burn. I try to feel it inside me, the space that gets created, the power that replaces helplessness. I watch the paper burn and then drift away, unrecognizable, weightless … just ashes on the cold night air.
This week, burn away something big.”

How was your week? Were you surprising? Did you have to make a mental note of it or did it come naturally? Did you notice people being surprising to you/around you?

PS: If you’re interested in joining us, you don’t have to have the e-guide to play, but if you’d like it, you can buy it in the shop.

