My favorite Winter drinks, with recipes

I was in bed with a cold for a few days this week, and while trying to stay as hydrated as possible, I started thinking of my favorite drinks for this time of year. And about how I haven’t done a Recipe of the Month post in a while. So, this will be a two in one blog post.

The following are my favorite Winter drinks, with one recipe included for each category.

Anything Winter-labeled tea
You know I love tea as a general rule, but during Fall and Winter I most enjoy drinking flavors I consider more “festive”. Some of my favorites are:
Pear & Caramel (Sir Edward Tea),
Apple & Cinnamon, Spiced Chai (Lipton),
Lemon & Ginger, Cranberry & Blood Orange or Blueberry & Apple (Twinings),
Magic Moments, Wintertime or Granny’s Finest (Teekanne),
Seasons Winter or Winter Holiday (Fares, a Romanian brand),
Ginger Peach Tea, Spiced Red Fruits or Black Tea Chai (English Tea Shop),
Magic Time (Mistral).

Sweet Ginger Tea

Sweet Ginger Tea

Sweet Ginger Tea

Cut about a one inch piece of fresh ginger root into small pieces, or thin slices.
Boil 250 ml water and pour into your cup over the ginger pieces.
Sweeten with 1-2 teaspoons of honey.
Add a slice of lemon, if you’re feeling adventurous.

The result is a really nice spicy tea, perfect for when you’re feeling chilly or a cold is creeping up on you.

If you’d like your tea less spicy, remove the ginger pieces after 2-3 minutes.
Optionally you can eat the ginger pieces and lemon slice after finishing your tea, or save them to use when cooking something (such as stir fry dishes).

Fresh juices
Orange, Orange & Grapefruit, Orange & Mandarin, Apple & Orange & Beet and Apple & Carrot & Beet combos. When my boyfriend doesn’t make me one in the morning, I like grabbing these on my way to work or during my lunch break, and sometimes even adding a splash of Ginger, Mint or Basil in there, too!

Spiced Orange & Grapefruit Juice

Spiced Orange & Grapefruit Fresh

Spiced Orange & Grapefruit Fresh

Squeeze the juice of 3 oranges and 1/2 of a Grapefruit into a glass.
You can also use a citrus reamer to do this. Strain of pulp if you’d like.
Stir in 1/2 teaspoon of Cinnamon or Pumpkin Spice mix (or both).
Sweeten (if needed) with 1-2 teaspoons of honey.

The obtained juice contains lots of magnesium, vitamin C, other minerals and vitamins making it a powerful antioxidant source besides being colorful and tasty.

Lattes and Hot Chocolate
A nice Caramel latte is the first thing I drink in the morning, but during this time of year, I enjoy switching it up and adding a Pumpkin Spice Latte, Gingerbread Latte or Marshmallow Latte into the mix.
As for hot chocolate, my favorite ready mixes are:
Hot Chocolatta Caramello (LaFesta),
Vanilla Flavored Chocolate Powder (Chocolaterie Monbana),
Seriously Velvety Instant Hot Chocolate (Clipper).
I’m also still in love with the S’mores Hot Chocolate, and recently tried my friend Janel‘s recipe for Cinnamon Hot Cocoa.
In case you haven’t read Janel’s books, feel free to catch up on her Culinary Competition Mystery Series before the next book releases on December 17th! They include yummy recipes, too!

page hot cocoa

Cinnamon Hot Cocoa
by Janel Gradowski

2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
1 – 2 tablespoons brown sugar (depending on how sweet you would like it)
Dash of ground cinnamon
Pinch of salt
1 cup of milk (dairy or non-dairy)
1 teaspoon coconut oil
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
Add some turmeric and maca powder if you want to make this healthier.

Whisk together cocoa powder, sugar, cinnamon and salt in a small pan with a few tablespoons of the milk.
Stir until a smooth paste forms. Slowly whisk in the rest of the milk until well combined. Add the coconut oil.
Heat over medium heat, stirring frequently, until almost boiling. Stir in vanilla extract and serve.

I actually used one tablespoon of coconut milk instead of coconut oil, since I didn’t have any at hand, but the result was still delicious!

Coconut oil has many health benefits, including strengthening immunity. It adds a subtle coconut flavor to the hot cocoa, as well as a bit of richness. If you don’t have it feel free to leave out.

Let me know in the comment section below, what are your favorite Winter drinks? Give me the recipe so I can try them out!

Hope you enjoy the holidays with yummy drinks! ;)
2 Comments to “My favorite Winter drinks, with recipes”

  1. Thanks for including my recipe! I’m glad you liked it. Merry Christmas!

Leave a reply. You'll be rewarded with cookies!

