My 2014 & 2015 in books

I honestly forgot to do a blog post like this with my 2014 in books, so I decided to write one today. I’ll quickly brush on 2014 saying that although I originally challenged myself to read 40 books, I was happy for the tiny win of reading a book more than the 20 I downgraded my reading challenge to, and made it to 21.
Looking back, I notice that half the books I read are from the “Pretty Little Liars” book series, which I honestly didn’t like that much (this is one of those very few times where the TV show is far better than the books, I think). I probably should’ve just stopped reading them, but it doesn’t matter now.
I also read quite a few cooking/baking related books, even though I didn’t have too much time for experimenting in the kitchen. Reading such short reads does fit in well with how much time (or rather how little, given a lot of over time at work) I had on my hand for simply reading.
The total of pages read in 2014 goes up to 5442, of which the longest book I read was Harlequin Holiday Collection: Four Classic Seasonal Novellas, by Debra Webb at 485 pages.

My two very favorite reads of 2014 are:

  • Paris Letters, by Janice Macleod – I started reading this book in September, but put it aside to read when I had more time, so ended up really reading it in December. It has just the right amount of humor, romance, and adventure. Paris Letters made me feel happiness and hope, it gave me inspiration, encouragement and advice. Reading this book when I did helped me immensely in the sense that I liked my job as quality assurance tester, but was already thinking of leaving the firm I was with and finding a better-paying job. Janice’s story, and my boyfriend’s nudging, really inspired me to go beyond wanting this and actually taking steps toward it, starting to learn a bit more and build my CV towards a better job.
    It also “worked” – I am now technical author, which to me translates to “I get paid to write and do some traveling, too”. Nothing short of a dream come true!
  • Let it snow, by John Green, Maureen Johnson and Lauren Myracle – An anthology of three short stories, all tied together by a thread, that are sure to make you smile and will warm your heart during the holiday season. The three narrations fit so seamlessly together without losing their individual flavor. I loved every one of the stories in there! It is one of those reads that just makes you want to snuggle up on your couch, a hot cocoa or tea in hand and wish you had a fireplace to read by!

Below is a print screen of all the titles I’ve read in 2014.

2014 in books

 

In 2015, I started out way too optimistic again, on the just-for-fun reading train. I challenged myself to read 20 books, and ended up downgrading/finishing only 10. I kept putting off reading for fun, and ended up stressing out about finishing my 2015 reading challenge.
On the other hand, I’ve read more than 50 training manuals which I also edited/re-branded for work, and which I cannot add to my reading challenge since they’re used in-house by the client.
I finished a few books that I started reading a long time ago, and which I kept putting off reading. I am really happy to get these off my TBR list! It was also nice to read while I traveled to/from London for work, I’d definitely rather read since I can’t sleep while on a plane.
The total page count only comes to 1819, with the longest book being Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking, by Susan Cain at 352 pages.

My three top favorite reads of 2015 are:

  • Pies & Peril, by Janel Gradowski – I found the plot easy to follow, and it kept me guessing about who the killer was. The timing for me to re-read this book was perfect as my boyfriend and I have been watching an old murder mystery series last year.
  • Buckingham Palace: Official Souvenir Guide, by Royal Collection Publications – Purchased this when I visited Buckingham Palace in August 2015, and it provided the best “tour” when I read it at home and talked about the Palace to my friends and family. I love it!
  • E-guide: 52 Weeks, 52 Ways to Love Your (Wild) Self, by Judy Clement Wall – This surely doesn’t come as a surprise, as I went through the exercises in the 52-52 guide this past year and shared with you my thoughts about them every week of 2015! I love love love this e-guide! Even though I try to be mindful of what I need, I put everyone else first far too many times. So this is such a beautiful reminder that I need to be better about loving myself, first.

Below is a print screen of all the titles I’ve read last year. Take a look, and check out the list itself on Goodreads. Who knows, you might see something you’d also like to read.

2015 in books

My friend Trisha shared a link last week about a reading challenge she’s trying since she also wants to read more, and not just work/study stuff. I’ll share The 2016 Reading Challenge here in case anyone else is interested. I really liked the idea, especially the fact that it gives one a lot of room to tailor it to their own taste. As Anne, from Modern Mrs. Darcy phrased it, “read 12 books in 12 different categories in 12 months. It’s simple and doable, but it provides the structure you need to approach your reading list with intention in 2016.”

Now, please let me know in the comments below how many books you’ve read this past year? And what are your favorite reads for 2015 (or previous years)?

Since I haven’t read nearly as much for fun as I would’ve liked last year, I decided to challenge myself to read 20 books in 2016. And I totally plan to update this with higher numbers over the course of the year! So, don’t hold back, I always love a good book recommendation!

Here’s to a great 2016, filled with lots of reading!

4 Comments to “My 2014 & 2015 in books”

  1. I love the reading challenge provided by the Modern Mrs. Darcy and have taken it to heart. I used to be an insatiable reader but have become a too avid reader of self-help books about health. I’ve also started going back to magazines. I think it’s because my life is currently so stressful that I need something light to pass the time before bed.

    But, because of your post, I went to Barnes and Noble yesterday and bought a different book to read for enjoyment. It has absolutely nothing to do with a healthy lifestyle.
    The book I’ve chosen to read is The Paris Wife http://smile.amazon.com/Paris-Wife-Paula-McLain/dp/0345521315/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1453915494&sr=1-1&keywords=paris+wife. It is a story about Hemingway and his wife, Hadley. Although I am only on page 50 or so, it is, without a doubt, going to be a great read. Also check out the biography of the author on Amazon. Geez.

    I will publicly declare here that I will read 14 non-self-help books this year. I’m currently on #1. My next book will be a classic I never read in high school, and my third is going to be in a genre I don’t normally read. Here’s to a great year of reading for pleasure rather than panic!

    • Yeah, I really like the challenge by the Modern Mrs. Darcy as well, and while not following it to the letter, I will definitely use it for inspiration when picking out books to read this year. I have so many lovely books on my TBR that I do want to go through those first.

      In 2013 I decided that I should read more, and decided to give up buying something else and bought one book for myself every month throughout the year. I stopped doing that a couple of months into 2014 when I started having less time to read. But I’d like to pick the habit back up again as it’d be a little something just for myself.

      Thanks for sharing your choice of book, I’ve seen the title before but didn’t stop to look at a description. Now that I have, it’s going on my Wishlist for sure!

      I’ll be cheering you on this year to reach your goal in reading more for pleasure sending you links to books that I love.
      And if you want to, come back to this post and tell me about which books you’re reading. Let’s inspire each other!

      • So far, “The Paris Wife” is fantastic. I’m well into the book and feel like I have to pace myself. This is a must read book. I’m sure I will look into the author’s other books as well because that’s what I do — find an author and then binge read because it’s so rare that I make time to devour a book.

        I need inspiration so I will keep coming back again and again!

        • I’ve added the book to my “saved for later” Amazon list, can’t wait to order!
          I am like that, too, if I like an author, I try to purchase more of their books. That’s how I read John Green’s books, I have only one left to read from the ones already published. :)

Leave a reply. You'll be rewarded with cookies!

