National Poetry Month 2016: Blackout Poetry

Large-Blue-RGB-National-Poetry-Month-LogoTo quote the official description from the website,
“This April marks the 20th anniversary of National Poetry Month, which was inaugurated by the Academy of American Poets in 1996.
Over the years, National Poetry Month has become the largest literary celebration in the world with schools, publishers, libraries, booksellers, and poets celebrating poetry’s vital place in our culture.

Please join in the celebration by listing your events and attending other events in your community, displaying this year’s posterparticipating in Poem in Your Pocket Day, recommending the Dear Poet project to a young personsigning up to read a Poem-a-Day, and checking out 30 more ways to celebrate.

We hope National Poetry Month’s events and activities will inspire you to keep celebrating poetry all year long!”

NPMBlogTour2016I’m celebrating by writing some poetry myself, creating book spine poetry, overall reading more poetry this month and visiting the blogs and articles in the Savvy Verse & Wit National Poetry Month Blog Tour listings.

~

For my first poetry-related creative project, I decided to try blackout poetry. It was really simple to form!
All I did was print out a page I deemed okay as far as the text was concerned. I printed it out so that I wouldn’t actually mess up any of my books – I love them too much! Then, I took the page with me on a lunch break and started forming a poem with some of the words.  After my poem was formed, I went to town with the rest of the page, blacking out.
Truth be told I would’ve liked to create an interesting design, something like a doodle on the page, but my sharpie really wasn’t cooperating. Anyway, below is the result and a transcript of the poem itself :)

blackout poetry

Together as the stars came out,
tiny silver bells whispered aloud.
They stopped beside a small stream.
She felt as fragile as glass in his hands,
trembling he turned to look at her.
His hand rubbed away the tears
touched her hair lightly,
lifted her head, their faces finally at height.
They sat silently, and strangely tender, unmoving.

~

Want to play? Go black out words on a page of your favorite novel to form a poem, and then leave me a link to your photo in the comments section so I can check it out :)

3 Responses to “National Poetry Month 2016: Blackout Poetry”

  1. I love this, and the blackout poem is wonderful. I’ve shared this post with everyone and added it to the tour list!

Trackbacks

Leave a reply. You'll be rewarded with cookies!

