Where do You Find Inspiration?

Large-Blue-RGB-National-Poetry-Month-LogoToday is the second stop on the Savvy Verse & Wit National Poetry Month Blog Tour.

My writer friend, Judy Clement Wall, shared the first post of the “Coffee Shop Moments” series back in 2013. She often writes in coffee shops, and she defined this as a way for her to combine writing with her (then) new-found passion of doodling, practice her hand lettering, experiment with some different doodling techniques and tools, and justify the time she spends shamelessly eavesdropping on people in coffee shops.

Since then, she is not a newcomer in illustrating anymore, as you can see from her Meet-the-artist video for HCI Books’s Inkspirations launch.
Hope you drop by and read her thoughts, and given they have inspired me a lot, I am sure they are bound to do the same for you.

NPMBlogTour2016From pen, to paper, to screen…

Personally, I don’t write in coffee shops – that would be way too loud, or at least busy, for me. However, for “inventory” purposes, so far I have written both poems and flash fiction:
in quiet spots while traveling, on a flat’s rooftop, as part of long walks in the park, on a walk with a friend where both of us got our notebooks out and started writing away after a nice long talk, and in various spots in my home that I’ve called my writing spaces.

In these same places I also found and continue to find inspiration. Ideas for theme, setting, and characters come from there. To elaborate on that, I’ll name only a few.

One of my favorite poems, “That Moment”, was written three months after a particularly amazing first date.
Silence prompted writing “Some Silences”, which I still think holds so much truth in just a few sentences. “Heart on the beach” came to life during a walk on one of the sandy beaches of Sicily.
One of my most emotion-filled poems still is “The slowest dance”, bringing up memories of a time long gone every time I read it. While the haiku “Stillness” was inspired by as little as the natural artsy light/shadows effect coming through our, at that time, new window after closing the curtains for the first time.

I wrote “Overwriting Memories”, one night after looking through the pictures of my trip, for a future travel article about Paris. In one of the photos I noticed a couple in the Eiffel Tower whom I inadvertently captured. Prompted by this, the flash fiction piece basically wrote itself.
“Sleeping Beauty of Palermo” came to life a couple of days after arriving home from my trip to Sicily. It is true to this day, that ever since my friends and I visited the Capuchin catacombs of Palermo in Sicily, the memory of it is still one which stands out to all of us, one that left us tongue tied for the rest of that day. The face of Rosalia Lombardo is etched into my memory, still keeping me speechless, yet I was compelled to act on my thoughts, to write a story around what I have seen.
“Predictable” is one of my favorite flashes inspired by my cat, Onyx, and says something about this writer life, about how inspiration comes to me.

As I write this article, I am sitting on a bench overlooking the lake in Central Park here in Cluj-Napoca. It’s past seven in the evening, the sun is setting, and the heat turned into a nice breeze. To my left, a middle aged woman leans back reading “The Little Prince”.
If asked about it, I imagine she would reply: “All my books are children’s books. After all, what is the difference between children and adults, and books written for one or the other? I was drawn in by a title, a first sentence, by a memory of school vacations from a long time ago, a quote I’ve known by heart for years and which I have rediscovered again while reading today.”

These thoughts might turn into a poem, or a flash fiction piece sometime in the future. Or they might only remain here as proof of how this writer’s mind works when out and about. Any and all of the above are welcome.

Now I am wondering about You. Please share in the comments below: where do You find inspiration?

How is your National Poetry Month going? Read anything you think I’d like? Do share!

5 Responses to “Where do You Find Inspiration?”

  1. Gosh inspiration can come from things I’m reading, watching, or talking about. My mind loves going on tangents, so sometimes the result of inspiration may not even resemble the moment I was inspired. I can write in a number of locations, but I think my favorite places are in the quiet and outside.

  2. Before I forget, I added your link to the Mr. Linky and the schedule.

Trackbacks

Leave a reply. You'll be rewarded with cookies!

